Are McDonald’s Pancakes / Hotcakes Vegan?

Pancakes, or ‘hotcakes’ as McDonald’s calls them, are among the most popular menu items from McDonald’s breakfast menu. Although they are so loved, vegans have doubts about the same. So, are McDonald’s pancakes/hotcakes vegan? Let’s find out. 

Are McDonald's pancakes vegan?

McDonald’s pancakes, also known as hotcakes, are unfortunately not vegan. The pancakes contain eggs and milk, which are not part of a vegan diet. Hence they cannot be qualified as the same. 

The pancakes from McDonald’s have remained one of the best breakfast items to order for decades. Since veganism has also increased, people have been seeking options. In this article, you will learn all about the ingredients used to make these classic hotcakes and whether McDonald’s offers vegan pancakes! 

McDonald’s Pancakes Are Not Vegan

McDonalds pancakes are not vegan

McDonald’s pancakes cannot be qualified as vegan since they contain eggs and milk. 

Both eggs and milk are animal by-products not part of a vegan diet. Moreover, these pancakes also contain whipped butter and sweet cream, which are dairy products. 

Lastly, McDonald’s pancakes are also cooked in butter and topped with the same. So, the pancakes can be qualified as vegetarian per se, but unfortunately, vegans cannot enjoy the classic hotcakes from McDonald’s. 

McDonald’s Pancakes Ingredients

McDonalds pancakes ingredients

Here are the ingredients used to make McDonald’s pancakes, consisting of all three elements of the pancakes: the hotcakes themselves, hotcake syrup, and salted whipped butter.  

  1. McDonald’s Hotcakes: 
  • Water, 
  • Enriched Flour (wheat Flour, Niacin, Reduced Iron, Thiamine Mononitrate, Riboflavin, Folic Acid), 
  • Whey, 
  • Corn Flour, 
  • Soybean Oil, 
  • Sugar, 
  • Eggs, 
  • Leavening (baking Soda, Sodium Aluminum Phosphate, Monocalcium Phosphate), 
  • Dextrose, 
  • Emulsifiers (mono And Diglycerides, Propylene Glycol Monoesters Of Fats And Fatty Acids, Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate), 
  • Salt, 
  • Xanthan Gum, 
  • Natural Flavors, 
  • Beta Carotene (color), 
  • Soy Lecithin

2. Hotcake Syrup

  • Corn Syrup
  • Sugar
  • Water
  • Natural Flavors
  • Potassium Sorbate (Preservative)
  • Caramel Color

3. Salted Whipped Butter

  • Sweet Cream
  • Salt

The hotcake syrup and the butter contain some dairy ingredients except for the hotcake syrup. Moreover, the hotcakes also have some other allergens to be aware of, like soy, eggs, and wheat.

Does McDonald’s Use Real Eggs In Their Pancakes? 

Yes, McDonald’s uses real eggs in their pancakes, just like they do for breakfast items. 

McDonald’s has often faced backlash for the ingredients they use to make all their menu items. People have often said that the eggs used by McDonald’s, just like their meat, are probably processed and unnatural. But you’d be happy to know that is not the case! 

McDonald’s used real eggs to make pancakes, even per their official website. Like all other breakfast items McDonald’s offers, the pancakes are made with Grade A eggs, which are also USDA certified. But, if you still have doubts, you can also make a version of the famous McDonald’s pancakes at home! 

Can You Order Vegan Pancakes At McDonald’s? 

Can you order vegan pancakes at McDonalds

No, unfortunately, as of now, you cannot order vegan pancakes at McDonald’s. 

Although McDonald’s is one of those fast food chains accommodating customers’ needs, they haven’t started selling vegan pancakes. Their standard procedure to make pancakes has been the same for many years. 

Their pancake or hotcake recipe is classic and has not changed over the years. So, McDonald’s does not have vegan replacement ingredients to make vegan pancakes. However, we hope that they will introduce the same very soon! 

Is There Dairy In McDonald’s Pancakes Too? 

Yes, McDonald’s pancakes contain dairy as well. 

Both McDonald’s pancakes and the soft whipped butter used to top the pancakes contain milk and sweet cream derived from dairy products. But, if you are lactose intolerant or want to avoid dairy, even in minor quantities, you can look at McDonald’s dairy-free menu for further information. 

What Are Some Vegan Options On The McDonald’s Menu? 

Other vegan options on McDonalds menu

Here are some lovely options on the McDonald’s menu that vegans can enjoy without a single worry: 

  1. Apple Slices
  2. Apple Pie
  3. Premium Roast Coffee
  4. Americano Coffee
  5. Fountain Beverages

These are some delicious and lovely options for vegans to enjoy at McDonald’s. Moreover, another great thing about these vegan options is that they are a bit more nutritious, making it a complete win-win situation for vegans! 


McDonald’s pancakes contain milk and eggs; hence, they cannot qualify as vegan. Moreover, the hotcakes are also topped with whipped butter, made with sweet cream, again a dairy-based ingredient. 

So sadly, these pancakes are not fit for vegans to enjoy. Moreover, McDonald’s does not offer vegan pancakes, as they have kept their standard recipe the same. However, we hope they do the same soon! 

If you are a vegan and enjoy your dose of McDonald’s now and then, there is some good news! McDonald’s does offer a few options on their menu, which are vegan. McDonald’s also experiments with new vegan products on their menu, like their vegan McPlant Burger. McDonald’s also offered Plant-based chicken nuggets and sometimes even vegan breakfast oatmeal that you should check out! 

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Are McDonald’s pancakes vegan? 

No, McDonald’s pancakes are not vegan. 

Does McDonald’s pancake syrup also contain dairy? 

No, the syrup used to top the pancakes is dairy-free and vegan. 

Does McDonald’s offer other options on their menu that are vegan? 

Yes, McDonald’s does offer other lovely options on their menu that are entirely vegan.

Can you order vegan pancakes at McDonald’s? 

No, you cannot order vegan pancakes at McDonald’s since they don’t offer the same. 

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *