Lately, many people have celiac disease, also known in common words as gluten intolerance. That does make it hard to eat at fast food restaurants. However, not at McDonald’s! This article will take a detailed look at McDonald’s gluten-free menu and basic allergens!
McDonald’s was initially known for serving only hamburgers, fries, and milkshakes, which was their standard. However, people’s dietary needs have evolved over the years, and allergies are considered.
They keep that in mind, hence, McDonald’s has come a long way with specially curated menus for each diet, a special gluten-free menu, and disclaimers for allergens.
McDonald’s gluten-free menu is vast, with many options like burgers-without-buns, meats, some sides, and dipping sauces. There are also various options on the McDonald’s gluten-free menu for desserts, breakfast, and beverages.
Initially, when McDonald’s started, everyone knew the place for their hamburgers and fries. So, because this chain of restaurants specializes in burgers, people with gluten intolerance and some other allergies would usually steer away from the restaurant.
However, luckily that is not the case anymore! Now that McDonald’s has introduced these menus for special diets, everyone can enjoy their share of fast food! So, without further ado, let us take a look at what these options are!
If you would like to know more about the history of McDonald’s and how they started the gluten-free menu along with the allergen disclaimer, check out our article about the same!
What Are The Gluten-Free Options On The McDonald’s Menu?
When it comes to McDonald’s, there is honestly nothing not to like! Want some great burgers quickly? McDonald’s is the place to be! Moreover, the McDonald’s menu prices are all great and affordable for most people.
It is an even better place to visit now since they introduced their special menus for various dietary restrictions! So, what options can you try that are completely gluten-free?
There are plenty of options given below, along with their prices. If you want to know in depth about the nutritional value of these items, click on the link!
Meat Options Menu With Prices
|Beef Patty||$ 1.99|
|Sausage Patty||$ 1.69|
Sides Menu With Prices
|Apple Slices||$ 0.89|
Dipping Sauces Menu With Prices
|Spicy Buffalo Sauce||$ 0.00|
|Creamy Ranch Sauce||$ 0.00|
|Honey Mustard Sauce||$ 0.00|
|Tartar Sauce||$ 0.00|
Desserts Menu With Prices
|Hot Fudge Sundae||$ 3.49|
|Caramel Sundae||$ 3.49|
|M&M Candies McFlurry||$ 4.29|
Here, before you go and order yourself a meal from the McDonald’s gluten-free menu, there are certain things that you should keep in mind. Firstly, the beef patty from McDonald’s is completely gluten-free.
So, you can order any beef burger that you would like from the menu and ask them to remove the bun. You can also ask them to wrap the patty in lettuce if you like. But again, be careful and vary the sauces they will add to the patty.
The apple slices are completely safe for people with gluten intolerance and can also be enjoyed with their classic caramel dip. With dipping sauces, the ones mentioned above are all gluten-free.
However, with mayonnaise, tartar sauce, and creamy ranch sauce, there are chances of cross-contamination. So, ensure that the server knows your intolerance and can avoid cross-contamination.
Lastly, there are no issues with the hot fudge and caramel sundaes, and they can be enjoyed without worry. The McFlurry, however, there are again chances of cross-contamination as the other flavor contains Oreo cookies.
So again, keep the server informed so that all sorts of cross-contamination with oreo cookies containing gluten can be avoided.
McDonald’s Gluten-Free Drinks Options
Just like the gluten-free menu from McDonald’s has a lot to eat, the McDonald’s drinks and McCafe menu is even better! Most of the beverages on this menu are completely gluten-free, so there is no need to worry!
Even if you don’t eat a whole meal from McDonald’s because of gluten intolerance, you can surely enjoy a range of beverage options! So, despite the dietary restrictions, you will never leave McDonald’s empty-handed! All the gluten-free beverages and their prices are mentioned in the table below.
McCafe Beverages Menu With Prices (Medium Serving Size)
|Premium Roast Coffee||$ 1.99|
|Decaf Coffee||$ 1.99|
|Hot Tea||$ 1.29|
|Iced Coffee||$ 2.69|
|Iced Caramel Coffee||$ 2.69|
|Iced French Vanilla Coffee||$ 2.69|
|Premium Hot Chocolate||$ 2.79|
|Caramel Hot Chocolate||$ 2.79|
|Mocha Frappe||$ 3.99|
|Caramel Frappe||$ 3.99|
|Caramel Macchiato||$ 3.29|
|Iced Caramel Macchiato||$ 2.29|
|Caramel Mocha||$ 3.49|
|Iced Mocha||$ 3.49|
|Iced Caramel Mocha||$ 3.49|
|Caramel Latte||$ 3.29|
|Hazelnut Latte||$ 3.29|
|French Vanilla Latte||$ 3.29|
|Iced Latte||$ 3.29|
|Iced Hazelnut Latte||$ 3.29|
|Iced Caramel Latte||$ 3.29|
|Iced French Vanilla Latte||$ 3.29|
|Vanilla Cappuccino||$ 3.29|
|Hazelnut Cappuccino||$ 3.29|
|Caramel Cappuccino||$ 3.29|
Sweets & Treats With Prices (Medium Serving Size)
|Chocolate Shake||$ 3.69|
|Strawberry Shake||$ 3.69|
|Vanilla Shake||$ 3.69|
Beverages With Prices (Medium Serving Size)
|Hi-C Orange||$ 1.79|
|Diet Coke||$ 1.79|
|Fanta Orange||$ 1.79|
|Dr. Pepper||$ 1.79|
|Hawaiian Punch||$ 1.79|
|Minute Maid Orange Juice||$ 3.29|
|Dassani Bottled Water||$ 1.49|
|Chocolate Milk||$ 1.49|
|Honest Kids Organic Apple Juice||$ 1.49|
|Frozen Coca-Cola||$ 2.09|
|Frozen Fanta (Blue Raspberry)||$ 2.09|
|Frozen Fanta (Wild Cherry)||$ 2.09|
|Sweet Iced Tea||$ 1.49|
|Unsweetened Iced Tea||$ 1.49|
|Strawberry Banana Smoothie||$ 3.69|
|Mango Pineapple Smoothie||$ 3.69|
With the beverage menu, one great thing is that the chances of cross-contamination are extremely unlikely. So, with most of the beverages from this menu, you wouldn’t have to worry about any gluten around them.
However, there are some beverages where there are chances of cross-contamination, again with cookies and sauces that could have gluten. These beverages are their classic milkshakes and also the frappes. So, inform the server beforehand so they can be extra careful with your order.
McDonald’s Gluten-Free Breakfast Menu Options
The breakfast from McDonald’s is delicious but can be tricky territory for people with gluten intolerance. The McDonald’s breakfast menu is truly very vast, with a ton of options to choose from. However, there are indeed very few completely gluten-free options. Let us take a look at what these options are, along with their prices.
Sides With Prices
|Apple Slices||$ 0.89|
|Scrambled Eggs||$ 1.89|
|2 Half Strips Bacon||$ 2.19|
These are some great breakfast options you could enjoy at McDonald’s if you have gluten intolerance. There aren’t any issues with the apple slices, scrambled eggs, or even bacon if we talk about cross-contamination. However, you must be careful with the oatmeal and sausage as gluten contamination chances can be much higher.
McDonald’s Food Allergen Information
Considering that there are many things that people could be allergic to, McDonald’s does not have a specific allergen menu. However, this chain has done all it can to give proper guidelines to the customers about allergen information.
In this section, I have covered some common food allergens that you should be aware of while ordering food from McDonald’s. Although the menu items are not mentioned, these are things that you should be aware of and look out for.
Before we begin, another thing I would like to add is that while ordering online, the McDonald’s website mentions the ingredients and allergens of every food. It will make it much easier to choose. Moreover, you can also ask the server if you have any particular concerns.
1. Milk Allergy
Many people are lactose intolerant and cannot digest any dairy products. So for them, keeping an eye out for milk as an ingredient in any food from McDonald’s can be handy.
You can avoid adding cheese or dairy products to your burgers and go for a coffee without milk. However, be careful if you are extremely lactose intolerant, as many burgers, sauces, and beverages may have some traces of milk.
2. Egg Allergy
Another common allergen is eggs, which many people like to avoid. Of course, certain obvious foods, like the egg McMuffin, hotcakes, and even most baked goods, should be avoided on the breakfast menu.
However, like milk, there can be traces of eggs found in food items you wouldn’t have expected. It includes most burgers and, surprisingly, milkshakes too. So, keep in mind to check if the ingredient list has eggs mentioned in them or not.
3. Nut Allergy
Nut allergies are supposed to be the worst! McDonald’s usually uses canola oil for deep frying all their menu items. However, they have also clearly mentioned that there are chances that most food items come in contact with peanuts and other tree nuts. Hence, it would help if you looked out for nuts as an ingredient in all the food options.
Are McDonald’s Hash Browns Gluten-Free?
McDonald’s serves some of the best hash browns, making the perfect accompaniment for any McDonald’s breakfast meal. However, are they gluten-free and safe for people with gluten intolerance?
The answer is no. McDonald’s has clearly stated on their website that the Hash browns they serve are not gluten-free. The hash browns, although they don’t have any added gluten per se, have an added natural beef flavor.
This flavor contains hydrolyzed wheat, a form of gluten. To know in depth about hash browns and their gluten content, look at this link.
Are McDonald’s Fries Gluten-Free?
If there is a counterpart for hash browns when it comes to lunch and dinner meals, it is indeed the classic french fries from McDonald’s. This fast-food restaurant chain has been serving the best french fries since it first opened, but are they gluten-free?
The answer is no. McDonald’s website lists ingredients mentioned for french fries containing natural beef flavoring. As mentioned, the natural beef flavor contains hydrolyzed wheat, which amounts to a small amount of gluten in the fries.
If you want to know about the gluten content in these fries, then look at our article about the same.
Are McDonald’s Chicken Nuggets Gluten-Free?
Chicken nuggets are another favorite of McDonald’s, not just in the United States but globally. Although extremely delicious and probably the best chicken nuggets you could ever get, these are surely not safe for people with gluten intolerance to consume.
No, the chicken nuggets are not gluten-free. The ingredients mentioned for chicken nuggets don’t have added beef flavoring but, instead, have wheat flour. So, that makes it loaded with gluten. Click here to learn more about the gluten content in McDonald’s chicken nuggets.
Are McDonald’s Milkshakes Gluten-Free?
McDonald’s serves some thick and decadent milkshakes that look utterly tempting. If you are intolerant to gluten but would also love a thick milkshake from McDonald’s, you are in luck!
The milkshakes, just like most beverages, are completely gluten-free! If I talk about the three basic milkshake flavors McDonald’s serves, which are vanilla, strawberry, and chocolate, they have absolutely no trace of gluten in them. They are all made with an ice cream and milk blend with no added gluten.
However, there are certain things that you will have to be careful about. Some of the sauces added to milkshakes can contain gluten, and there are chances of contamination if cookie crumbs are around. So, warn the server about your gluten intolerance before adding a milkshake.
Also, check out this article to know which added ingredients you should avoid in your classic McDonald’s milkshakes. This way, you can enjoy your milkshake without worrying about the consequences!
Other Diet-Specific McDonald’s Blogs That We Have Covered
Seeing how the world is evolving, people take dietary restrictions very seriously. So, although McDonald’s was initially known for serving just hamburgers, fries, and shakes, the chain of fast food restaurants is evolving its menu per various dietary guidelines.
Now, in most cases, you can still enjoy food at McDonald’s without having to worry too much about restrictions. Firstly, based on your dietary restrictions, I recommend checking out if McDonald’s food is good or bad for you.
Once you know that, you can check out various blogs we have covered on diet-specific menus from McDonald’s. Here, you can look at McDonald’s healthy menu options, McDonald’s low-sodium menu options, and McDonald’s low-calorie menu options.
Moreover, even if you are a vegan, you can still enjoy a lovely range of food from McDonald’s! To know about the options in detail, look at the McDonald’s vegan menu article. Lastly, if you have diabetes, check out if a person with diabetes can eat at McDonald’s, along with the options available, by following the link.
As we have reached the end of this article, I hope you all have understood and got all the information you needed about the gluten-free menu and common allergens. McDonald’s has done a great job developing special diet menus.
However, it is also the customers’ responsibility to be aware of common allergens and look at the ingredients before ordering anything from the McDonald’s menu.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
Does McDonald’s have a separate allergen menu?
No, McDonald’s does not have a separate allergen menu as such. However, they have mentioned all the allergens for each food item on their menu.
Are McDonald’s French fries gluten-free?
No, McDonald’s French fries are not gluten-free.
Does McDonald’s have gluten-free buns?
Currently, McDonald’s does not offer gluten-free buns or bread.
Are there chances of gluten cross-contamination with milkshakes?
It is unlikely. However, there still are chances, so it is best to warn the server about your allergies.