McDonald’s Allergen Menu 2024 | What To Eat & Avoid

With an increasing number of people having food allergies and sensitivities nowadays, it can be difficult to find dining options when eating out. However, McDonald’s actually has a wide variety of options on their menu that cater to many different allergies. So, let’s explore McDonald’s allergen menu

McDonald's Allergen Menu

McDonald’s allergen menu comprises menu items marked for common allergens like wheat, soy, milk, eggs, fish, rye, sesame, nuts, barley, celery, peanuts, oats, kamut, spelt, lupin, and mustard. 

McDonald’s has been expanding their allergen-friendly selections on their menu in recent years to accommodate the growing demand. They have many food items that are egg-free, dairy-free, and nut-free.

For now, let’s look at McDonald’s allergen menu in detail. In this blog, you will learn about various allergens in McDonald’s menu items and what you can order next time you visit there. So, let’s get started!

McDonald’s Allergen Menu Options

McDonald's Allergen Menu Items

Eating at McDonald’s can be challenging if you have any kind of food allergy. But thanks to McDonald’s for offering menu options that are allergy-free. McDonald’s provides information about food allergens that are present in their food items, which allows you to make informed decisions. 

Food sensibilities are so different from person to person, therefore it’s important to look at the allergen menu and find the most suitable menu options for yourself. 

For example, if you have a milk allergy, you can avoid ordering milkshakes or frappes which contain milk. Apart from that, if you have egg allergies, then you can avoid Egg McMuffin or any baked dishes that contain eggs. 

Most people with peanut allergy can avoid French fries as they are deep fried in peanut oil. 

Although, McDonald’s has worked to expand their allergen-friendly menu. They provide information about major allergens contained in their food items and work with customers to accommodate special orders and modifications. 

However, some options remain limited. The removal of common allergic triggers like dairy, egg, fish, and nuts allows people to enjoy a meal from McDonald’s. Overall, limit McDonald’s food that is bad for your body. So, let’s look at the below table to help you identify which menu items contain the ingredients that you are allergic to. 

The allergen menu lists 19 allergens: wheat, rye, barley, oats, spelt, soya, nuts, peanuts, sesame, milk, eggs, fish, celery, mustard, molluscs, lupin, and more. Here is a table that summarizes the McDonald’s menu items that contain each of these allergens:

McDonald’s Drinks Menu

Menu ItemsWheatRyeBarleyOatsSpeltKamutSoyaNutsPeanutsSesameMilkEggsFishCeleryMustardMolluscsLupin
Coca-cola zero sugar
Sprite (no sugar)
Diet Coke
Coca-cola Classic
Fanta Orange
Banana MilkshakeYes
Chocolate MilkshakeYes
Strawberry MilkshakeYes
Vanilla MilkshakeYes
Tropicana Orange Juice
Bottled Water
Robinsons Fruit Shoot
Flat WhiteYes
Toffee LatteYes
Black Coffee
White CoffeeYes
Hot ChocolateYesYes
Frozen Strawberry Lemonade
Caramel Iced FrappeYes
Mango & Pineapple SmoothieYes

McDonald’s McCafe Iced Drinks

Menu ItemsWheatRyeOatsSpeltKamutSoyaNutsPeanutsSesameMilkEggsFishCeleryMustardMolluscsLupin
Iced LatteYes
Strawberries And Cream FrappeYes

McDonald’s Main Menu

Menu ItemsWheatRyeBarleyOatsSpeltKamutSoyaNutsPeanutsSesameMilkEggsFishCeleryMustardMolluscsLupin
Big MacYesYesYesYes
Quarter Pounder With CheeseYesYesYes
Double Quarter Pounder With CheeseYesYesYes
McChicken SandwichYesYes
Vegetable DeluxeYesYes
Chicken SelectsYes
Chicken McNuggetsYes
Veggie Dippers
Double CheeseburgerYes
Bacon Double CheeseburgerYes
Triple CheeseburgerYes
Mayo ChickenYes
Bacon Mayo ChickenYes

McDonald’s Happy Meal

Menu ItemsWheatRyeBarleyOatsSpeltKamutSoyaNutsPeanutsSesameMilkEggsFishMustardCelery
Chicken McNuggetsYesYes
Fish FingersYesYes
Veggie Dippers
Small Fries
Fruit Bag
Apple & Grape
Fruit Bag – Pineapple Stick
Fruit Bag – Melon
Carrot Bag
Cucumber Sticks
Organic Semi-Skimmed MilkYes
-Robinsons Fruit Shots
Tropicana Orange Juice
Bottled Water

McDonald’s Salads

Menu ItemsWheatRyeBarleyOatsSpeltKamutSoyaNutsPeanutsSesameMilkEggsFishCeleryMustard
Grilled Chicken Salad
Grilled Chicken & Bacon Salad
Crispy Chicken SaladYes
Crispy Chicken & Bacon SaladYes
Side Salad
Balsamic Dressing

McDonald’s Big Flavor Wraps

Menu ItemsWheatRyeBarleyOatsSpeltKamutSoyaNutsPeanutsSesameMilkEggsFishCelery Mustard
The Sweet Chilli Chicken OneYesYesYesYes
The BBQ & Bacon Chicken OneYesYesYesYes
The Garlic Mayo Chicken OneYesYesYesYesYes
The Spicy Veggie OneYesYes

McDonald’s Condiments And Sauces

Menu ItemsWheatRyeBarleyOatsSpeltKamutSoyaNutsPeanutsSesameMilkEggsFishCeleryMustard
Tomato Ketchup
BBQ DipYes
Sweet Curry DipYesYes
Sweet & Sour DipYesYesYesYes
Smokey BBQ Dip
Sweet Chilli Dip
Sour Cream & Chive DipYesYes
Lurpak SpreadableYes
Strawberry Jam
Pancake Syrup
Flora Original
Golden Syrup

McDonald’s Desserts

Menu ItemsWheatRyeBarleyOatsSpeltKamutSoyaNutsPeanutsSesameMilkEggsFishCeleryMustard
Millionaire’s DonutYesYesYes
Chocolate BrownieYesYesYesYes
Mixed Berry MuffinYesYesYesYes
Triple Chocolate CookieYesYesYesYes
Sugar DonutYesYesYes
Hot Apple PieYes
McFlurry MaltesersYesYesYesYes
McFlurry SmartiesYesYesYes
McFlurry OreoYesYesYes
Mini McFlurry MaltesersYesYesYes
Mini McFlurry SmartiesYesYes
Mini McFlurry OreoYesYesYes

McDonald’s Breakfast Allergen Menu

Menu ItemsWheatRyeBarleyOatsSpeltKamutSoyaNutsPeanutsSesameMilkEggsFishCelery
Breakfast Roll with Tomato KetchupYesYesYesYes
Breakfast Roll with Brown SauceYesYesYes
Bacon Roll with Tomato KetchupYes
Bacon Roll with Brown SauceYesYes
Sausage & Egg McMuffinYesYesYesYes
Bacon & Egg McMuffinYesYesYesYes
Double Sausage & Egg McMuffinYesYesYesYes
Double Bacon & Egg McMuffinYesYesYesYes
Egg & Cheese McMuffinYesYesYesYes
Mighty McMuffin with Tomato KetchupYesYesYesYesYes
Mighty McMuffin with Brown SauceYesYesYes
Muffin With JamYesYesYes
Pancakes & SyrupYesYesYes
Pancakes with Sausage & SyrupYesYesYes
Cheesy Bacon FlatbreadYesYes
Hash BrownYes

Is It Safe To Eat At McDonald’s If You Are Allergic?

Yes, it can be safe to eat at McDonald’s, but it’s important to check the ingredient list of the menu items. Also, you must be aware of cross-contamination.

When you are allergic to certain foods, going out to eat can be stressful. You never know if something you order might contain an allergen that could make you sick. But with some planning and precautions, you can enjoy a meal at McDonald’s while managing your allergies.

When you arrive at McDonald’s, inform them about your allergies to the staff. Tell them exactly what you are allergic to and check that all the ingredients in your order are safe for you. 

Most fast-food chain provides a nutritional information guide that tells you about the ingredients available in the food items. We have also covered McDonald’s nutrition guide to help you make the best choice possible.

Opt for plain options that are less likely to contain mystery ingredients, like hamburger patties, fries, or chicken nuggets. Double-check that any sauces you order are safe for you.

If you are really unsure, only order items with an ingredients label you can read yourself. Many of McDonald’s packaged food items have a full ingredients list you can scan.

The safest option is always making your food at home where you control the ingredients. But with proper communication and choosing simple options, you can likely find something to enjoy the next time a McDonald’s craving strikes! And remember to always carry your epinephrine auto-injector just in case.”

If You Are Allergic, Keep These Things In Mind While Eating At McDonald’s

If You Are Allergic, Keep These Things In Mind While EatIf You Are Allergic, Keep These Things In Mind While Eating At McDonald’sing At McDonald’s

If you have any kind of food allergy, dining out will always be a bit challenging. Even if you know what you are allergic to, it can be difficult to know exactly what’s in the food you are ordering at the restaurant. 

Mcdonald’s is no exception, and therefore here I have suggested some do’s and don’t of ordering at McDonald’s. The information below will help you ensure that your meal is safe and free of allergens. 

So, the first thing to know is what you are allergic to and check McDonald’s allergen information before placing your order. McDonald’s provides a detailed list of ingredients and allergens on their website, which you can access from your phone. The information will help you to choose the menu items carefully and which ones you should avoid. 

So, let’s check the points below and keep these things in mind while eating at McDonald’s:

1. Be specific: When you order at McDonald’s, tell staff what you are allergic to. Say something like, “I have a peanut allergy, so what menu items do you recommend that do not include peanuts.” The staff will guide you through and help you choose the safest menu items for you. 

2. Avoid Cross-Contamination: You can request the staff at McDonald’s for using clean utensils and cooking surfaces that haven’t been touched with allergic foods. Microwaves and deep fryers may also cross-contaminate foods.

3. Check The Ingredients List: Check out the ingredient list before you order the food item. Verify with the staff that it’s safe to eat for you. Even the simplest menu items like French fries or hash browns may contain food allergens.

4. Ask Questions: Don’t be afraid to ask questions to staff about the food menu items and the possible allergen present in them. You can also ask them to give you plain burgers or burgers with no buns. Add your own toppings so that you can always be safe and sound for your food allergies.

5. Be Aware Of Food Delivery: McDonald’s does not guarantee that your meal will not come in contact with other allergens during delivery. Food delivery channels can combine your McDonald’s order with other orders during the time of delivery. 

McDonald’s Cross-Contamination Statement

McDonald’s maintains the following cross-contamination statement on their official website:

McDonald’s says that “We also want you to know that despite taking precautions, normal kitchen operations may involve some shared cooking and preparation areas, equipment and utensils, and the possibility exists for your food items to come in contact with other food products, including allergens. We encourage our customers with food allergies or special dietary needs to visit for ingredient information and to consult their doctor for questions regarding their diet. If you have questions about our food, please reach out to us directly using our contact us forms.”

McDonald’s Allergen Disclaimer

On McDonald’s official website, they have published an official disclaimer statement about McDonald’s allergen menu. Check the disclaimer below:

“At McDonald’s, we take great care to serve quality, great-tasting menu items to our customers each and every time they visit our restaurants. We understand that each of our customers has individual needs and considerations when choosing a place to eat or drink outside their home, especially those customers with food allergies. As part of our commitment to you, we provide the most current ingredient information available from our food suppliers for the eight most common allergens as identified by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (eggs, dairy, wheat, soy, peanuts, tree nuts, fish and shellfish), so that our guests with food allergies can make informed food selections. However, we also want you to know that despite taking precautions, normal kitchen operations may involve some shared cooking and preparation areas, equipment, and utensils, and the possibility exists for your food items to come in contact with other food products, including allergens. We encourage our customers with food allergies or special dietary needs to visit for ingredient information and to consult their doctor for questions regarding their diet. Due to the individualized nature of food allergies and food sensitivities, customers’ physicians may be best positioned to make recommendations for customers with food allergies and special dietary needs. If you have questions about our food, please reach out to us directly at or 1-800-244-6227.”

Can You Eat At McDonald’s With Egg Allergy?

Eating at McDonald’s with an egg allergy can be manageable if you are careful. A lot of their foods and sauces have egg as an ingredient so it’s important to double-check the list of allergens with the staff.

McDonald’s does offer a number of safe menu items that do not include eggs such as hamburgers, cheeseburgers, veggie dippers, fries, fruit bags, grilled chicken salad, etc. However, their buns may include eggs so it’s better to ask them for eggless buns. 

Apart from their egg McMuffin and baked goods like their cookies, many of the fewer items are there which contain eggs. The least suspects on their menu are sauces, salad dressing, milkshakes, and pancakes (hotcakes).  

Are McDonald’s Chicken Nuggets Peanut Free?

Yes, McDonald’s confirms that their chicken nuggets are peanut-free. 

They state that their nuggets do not contain any peanut ingredients and are prepared in a fryer that has not been used for any peanut products. 

However, if you have severe peanut allergies, it may still be best to double-check at your specific location to be absolutely sure. Cross-contamination can potentially occur during the cooking or preparation process.

If you want to try homemade chicken nuggets, I highly recommend you check out the homemade Chicken Nugget recipe that you can customize to suit your taste. That way, you can control all the ingredients that go into your nuggets. 

Are McDonald’s Fries Cooked In Peanut Oil?

No, McDonald’s fries are not cooked in peanut oil. Instead, the fries are cooked in a canola blend oil.

Peanut oil is not used for a few reasons. 

First, peanut oil has a strong distinct flavor that would overpower the taste of the fries. Secondly, some customers have peanut allergies so using peanut oil would make the fries unsafe for those individuals. 

We have covered the McDonald’s Fries recipe on our website which you might find helpful. You can make them at home and be worry free of any ingredients that you are allergic to. 

Are McDonald’s Hash Browns Dairy Free?

McDonald’s hash browns are not strictly dairy-free. While the hash browns themselves don’t contain dairy, McDonald’s prepares them using the same fryers that are also used to cook products containing dairy. So there is a chance of cross-contact. 

However, McDonald’s does disclose that there may be trace amounts of milk due to using the same cooking oil for non-vegetarian products. 

So, if you have a dairy allergy, hash browns may not be suitable. In that case, you can check out the McDonald’s Hash Brown recipe on our website and make one at your home. 

Are McDonald’s Fries Dairy-Free?

Yes, McDonald’s classic fries are dairy-free and suitable for those avoiding dairy. The fries are made from potatoes, vegetable oil, and salt. They do not contain any milk ingredients. 

McDonald’s does not use any animal-derived products in producing their regular fries. The fries are deep-fried in canola blend oil. So, they are completely safe to eat at McDonald’s.

Is McDonald’s Ice Cream Peanut Free?

No, McDonald’s ice creams are not peanut-free. Their soft serve ice cream and cones contain milk, sugar, and corn syrup but could come into contact with equipment used to dispense products containing peanuts. 

As a result, people with severe allergies should avoid McDonald’s soft serve. Unfortunately, ice cream and shakes made with the same equipment can not be guaranteed nut-free. 

I would recommend checking with your local McDonald’s if their soft serve machine has been cleaned after preparing foods with peanuts. They may be able to prepare you a special nut-free cone or shake if you speak with the manager. But in general, McDonald’s ice creams are not considered peanut-free. 

Other Diet-Specific Articles That We’ve Covered

McDonald’s offers a range of menu options for diet-conscious people. If you are looking for healthy menu items at McDonald’s then you can check out the articles we have covered on the website. 

We have covered McDonald’s vegan menu, gluten-free menu, low-sodium menu, low-calorie menu, dairy-free menu, and keto menu. For diabetics wondering if McDonald’s can fit into a diabetic meal plan, we also investigate options that may work. 

McDonald’s caters to a variety of dietary needs through choices on its menu. Be sure to check them out and enjoy your dining at McDonald’s.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

What is McDonald’s allergen menu?

McDonald’s allergen Menu is a list of menu items that contain common food allergens such as milk, egg, soy, fish, wheat, peanuts, and mustard. The menu is designed to help customers make informed decisions about what to eat and avoid based on their personal dietary needs.

What can I eat if I am gluten intolerant?

If you have a gluten allergy, you can order items like fries, hash browns, grilled chicken salad, milkshakes, and coffee from McDonald’s gluten-free menu.

What food items contain dairy at McDonald’s?

At McDonald’s, dairy ingredients can be found in items like McFlurries, McCafé drinks with milk or cream, sundaes, shakes, pancakes, waffles, hotcakes, and muffins.

What can I order with an egg allergy?

If you have an egg allergy, avoid offerings like McMuffins, breakfast sandwiches, pancakes, waffles, and egg bagels. Instead, order fries, grilled or crispy chicken sandwiches on gluten-free buns, hamburgers and nuggets.

What food should I avoid with a nut allergy?

McDonald’s states that its menu in the U.S. currently does not contain any nuts, nut derivatives, or nut oils. However, be careful of possible cross-contamination.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *