Is McDonald’s Sweet Tea Gluten-Free?

Getting their sweet tea is always a great idea whenever you are in the mood for a refreshing drink at McDonald’s! This beverage is the true epitome of refreshment! But, have you ever wondered, ‘Is McDonald’s sweet tea gluten-free’? If yes, you’ll get your answers here! 

Is McDonald's sweet tea gluten free

Yes, McDonald’s sweet tea is indeed wholly gluten-free. The refreshing tea does not contain any ingredients that have gluten in them, which certifies it as entirely gluten-free. 

McDonald’s menu has a lot of delicious options, even as far as their beverages are concerned. However, for people with gluten intolerance, it can be hard out there, and it is always at the back of their minds to know which menu items are gluten-free and which are not.

Luckily, you have found the right post today; you will get every answer you need! 

Does McDonald’s Sweet Tea Contain Gluten?

Does McDonalds sweet tea without gluten

No, McDonald’s sweet tea does not contain gluten. 

Sweet tea is the perfect beverage from McDonald’s for anyone with gluten intolerance. The tea itself has no gluten-containing ingredients and is safe from traces of the same.

Lastly, a bonus is that the tea does not have any milk, which is excellent for vegans and people with lactose intolerance! 

What Does McDonald’s Use In Their Sweet Tea? 

What does the sweet tea contain

Here is the list of ingredients used to make McDonald’s Sweet Tea: 

  1. Water
  2. Orange Pekoe 
  3. Pekoe Cut Black Tea
  4. Medium Invert Sugar

As you can see, the list of ingredients used to make McDonald’s sweet tea is pretty standard. The medium invert sugar is mixed with water before being added to the sweet tea, making it a perfectly balanced flavor of citrus with tea and sugar. 

Other Gluten-Free Drinks On McDonald’s Menu

Other gluten free drinks at McDonalds

Here are some other gluten-free drink options from the McDonald’s menu that you can enjoy anytime if you have celiac disease. 

  1. Fountain Drinks 
  2. Coffee Drinks
  3. Smoothies
  4. Milkshakes
  5. Packaged Beverages

These are just the beverage options on the McDonald’s menu that are entirely gluten-free! If you would like to explore more gluten-free options on the McDonald’s menu, look at McDonald’s Gluten Free Menu and Allergen menu for more information! 


McDonald’s sweet tea is entirely gluten-free and a great refreshing beverage for anyone with celiac disease.

The sweet tea is also dairy free, which is undoubtedly a bonus! If you or someone you know has a gluten intolerance, have a thorough look at some other options on the McDonald’s menu as well, like if their Big Mac sauce is gluten-free.

Similarly, also have a look at if their Oatmeal is gluten-free. Likewise, if you want to enjoy a full meal from McDonald’s, look if they have gluten-free buns

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Is McDonald’s sweet tea gluten-free? 

Yes, McDonald’s sweet tea is gluten-free. 

Is McDonald’s sweet tea dairy free? 

Yes, McDonald’s sweet tea is also dairy free! 

Does McDonald’s offer other gluten-free drinks on its menu? 

Yes, plenty of other drinks on the McDonald’s menu are gluten-free. 

Does McDonald’s sweet tea contain sugar?

Yes, McDonald’s sweet tea contains Medium Invert sugar mixed with water.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *