Is McDonald’s Oatmeal Gluten Free?

McDonald’s Fruit & Maple oatmeal is a delightful choice that combines the goodness of oatmeal with tasty fruits. It’s one of the healthiest and low-calorie menu options that you can try. But have you ever wondered – is McDonald’s oatmeal gluten free or not? Well, let’s discover the answer.

Is McDonald’s Oatmeal Vegan

Yes, McDonald’s oatmeal is gluten-free. You can enjoy this delicious option without worrying about any wheat-containing ingredients. However, it’s important to note that the oats used in the recipe may be contaminated with wheat ingredients during manufacturing. So, if you are gluten intolerant, ordering oatmeal without oats is better.

Apart from oatmeal, McDonald’s menu includes many other items that you can enjoy without worrying about gluten. You can try their beverages, desserts, and more from the menu.

Let’s determine what McDonald’s oatmeal is made of and other gluten-free menu options. Keep reading the blog further. 

Does McDonald’s Fruit & Maple Oatmeal Contain Any Gluten?

Does McDonald’s Fruit & Maple Oatmeal Contain Any Gluten

No, McDonald’s fruit & maple oatmeal contains no gluten. The oatmeal is 100% gluten-free. According to McDonald’s official website, the oatmeal is made with gluten-free whole-grain rolled oats.

While oatmeal does not contain gluten, it can be possible that oats are cross-contaminated with gluten during the manufacturing process. 

Therefore, be careful when ordering a bowl of oatmeal, as it may contain gluten. So, you can tell the staff to remove oats from it, and then you can enjoy the treat. 

McDonald’s Oatmeal Ingredients

Below is the ingredient list of McDonald’s appetizing oatmeal recipe that you can check out:

  • Oatmeal 
  • Diced apples
  • Cranberry raisin blend (sweetened dried cranberries, California raisins, golden raisins, sunflower oil, and preservatives)
  • Light cream 

Does McDonald’s Have Any gluten-free breakfast options?

Gluten free breakfast options

Yes, McDonald’s does have gluten-free breakfast options. Those options include:

  1. Apple slices
  2. Sausage
  3. Scrambled eggs
  4. Bacon strips
  5. Hash browns
  6. Fruit N Yogurt Parfait (without granola)
  7. Side salad
  8. Mango pineapple smoothie
  9. Strawberry banana smoothie
  10. Blueberry pomegranate smoothie
  11. McCafe Frappes
  12. Hot chocolate 
  13. Sweet tea

All these breakfast items from McDonald’s are gluten-free. Check out the complete list of McDonald’s gluten-free menu items. Checking the menu items before trying is always better for people with gluten intolerance. 

Is McDonald’s Oatmeal Vegan?

Is McDonald’s Oatmeal Vegan

McDonald’s oatmeal is not vegan, as light cream is added.

However, if you want vegan oatmeal, you can tell the server not to add light cream. That way, you can enjoy vegan oatmeal from McDonald’s.  


So, there you have the answer: Mconald’s oatmeal is gluten-free. However, remember that the oatmeal oats may cross-contaminate with other gluten ingredients during manufacturing. 

Apart from oatmeal, we also explored some other breakfast options that you can find on McDonald’s breakfast menu. There are still many questions people are curious to know – whether McDonald’s sweet tea is gluten-free or not and whether McDonald’s hot chocolate is gluten-free. You can find all these answers on our blog.

Some coffee lovers have also questioned whether McDonald’s coffee drinks are gluten-free. For such answers, keep following us!  

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Does McDonald’s breakfast have gluten-free?

Not all menu items on McDonald’s breakfast menu are gluten-free. There are some ingredients on the breakfast menu items that contain gluten. These include hash browns, egg McMuffin, and sausage McMuffin too. 

Is anything from McDonald’s gluten-free?

You can find McDonald’s beverages and side menu items like apple slices, sausages, bacon strips, and dessert items. 

Is regular oatmeal gluten-free?

The oatmeal from McDonald’s is gluten-free as the oats used in the recipe are entirely gluten-free.

Are McDonald’s fries gluten-free?

No, McDonald’s fries are not gluten-free. They are cooked in a shared fryer and contain additives that include wheat. So, they are not gluten-free. 

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *