Is McDonald’s Ice Cream Halal?

Everyone loves the beautiful array of ice creams that McDonald’s has to offer on its menu, but many people have questions about whether McDonald’s ice cream is halal or not. Let’s find out in this post! 

Is McDonald's ice cream halal

Yes, McDonald’s ice cream may be halal as it does not contain alcohol, gelatine, or other non-permissible ingredients. However, it is always best to check with the restaurant to be aware of the chances of cross-contamination. 

In the United States, McDonald’s is not certified as halal, even though many of the options on their menu can be certified, including their soft serve ice cream and McFlurry.

This is the main reason people have doubts about ice cream. But, once you are done reading this article till the very end, you will get all the answers you need about McDonald’s ice cream being halal and more! 

What Is Considered As Halal? 

What is considered as halal

Halal is the term used for any food product that adheres to Islamic laws as per the Quran. Food, mostly meat, that is made with the Islamic laws in mind and is not contaminated by haram substances like pork and alcohol is considered halal. 

In most instances, these laws are primarily for meat slaughter. Meat is considered halal only if the animal is slaughtered in a halal-approved manner, which involves killing the animal through a cut to the jugular vein, carotid artery, and windpipe.

This method of of slaughtering an animal is known as ‘dhabiha’. The main idea behind slaughtering the animal in such a manner is to drain all the blood from the carcass, as in Islam, the consumption of blood is considered haram.

Moreover, after a cut is made on the jugular vein of the animal, a prayer is performed, known as tasmiya. If an animal has died because of natural causes, the meat is considered as haram by Muslims and cannot be halal-certified under any circumstances.

Halal meat also does not consist of pork, since pork is considered unholy under the Islamic law. Some other meats that can never be considered halal are donkey, horse, dog, cat, and monkey meat. Halal meat is always certified with a big stamp.

When we talk about ice cream in particular, it is always halal since it is made with dairy. Of course, as long as there is no gelatin or alcohol added. Similarly, vegan and vegetarian food is almost always halal unless they have traces of alcohol. 

McDonald’s Ice Cream May Not Be 100% Halal.

McDonalds ice cream may not be 100 halal

McDonald’s ice cream may not be considered 100% halal. This is because someone has recently mentioned that one of the ingredients added to the ice cream might not be plant-based, which could not make it 100% halal-certified. 

When asked on platforms like Quora, most people mentioned that McDonald’s ice cream could be halal as it does not contain alcohol or gelatin. It is also primarily made with dairy, which is regarded as halal. 

However, one user on Quora came up with a very different point: “An ingredient might make it haram if it’s not plant-based. Mono And Diglycerides, also known as E471, may not be plant-based. Other ingredients are halal. Please check it in your country; it could have different ingredients.” 

So, if you or someone you know likes to stick to halal food strictly and enjoys McDonald’s ice cream, be careful. You could go through the list of ingredients once and check if the compound mentioned is plant-based, which can help you determine whether the ice cream is halal. 

Can An Ice Cream Be Halal? 

Can an Ice cream be halal

Yes, Ice Cream can be halal since it does not contain traces of meat or alcohol. However, as there is a possibility of cross-contamination, it can not be completely considered as halal option.

In most cases, ice cream is usually always halal. If you speak of the main ingredients that go into making ice cream, which is sugar, and some dairy, these ingredients are always halal, which makes the ice cream halal as well. 

However, the issue usually happens with emulsifying agents added to ice cream. Many companies tend to add gelatin as an emulsifying agent, an animal-based product that is not halal. Even in small amounts, adding gelatin to any ice cream makes it haram. 

Similarly, some ice creams also have alcohol added to them. As per the rules of the Quran, alcohol is strictly considered haram. Hence, if ice cream has even the tiniest trace of alcohol, it is not halal. So, these are the things that you should look out for while checking if ice cream is halal or not. 

Ingredients In McDonald’s Ice Cream

Ingredients in McDonalds ice cream

Here is the list of ingredients that makes up this wonderful treat that is McDonald’s ice cream: 

  1. Milk
  2. Sugar
  3. Cream
  4. Corn Syrup
  5. Natural Flavor
  6. Mono and Diglycerides
  7. Cellulose Gum
  8. Guar Gum
  9. Carrageenan
  10. Vitamin A Palmitate

These are the ingredients that make up the classic soft serve. If you want to know more about the elements that make this ice cream as smooth as it is, look at what McDonald’s ice cream is made of

Is McDonald’s Ice Cream Vegan? 

No, McDonald’s ice cream is not vegan as it contains both cream and milk, which are dairy products. 

For more information, see if McDonald’s ice cream is vegan or vegetarian

Is McDonald’s Ice Cream Gluten-Free? 

Is McDonalds ice cream gluten free

Yes, McDonald’s ice cream is entirely gluten-free. 

As you can see from the ingredient mentioned above list, McDonald’s ice cream has no gluten ingredients. This certifies McDonald’s ice cream as gluten-free. However, you should always be aware of cross-contamination possibilities with gluten-based food. 

Is McDonald’s Ice Cream Dairy-Free? 

No, McDonald’s ice cream is not dairy free. 

Returning to the list of ingredients added to make McDonald’s ice cream, two primary ingredients are cream and milk, both of which are dairy based. So, technically McDonald’s ice cream cannot be classified as dairy free.

But some countries have dairy-free ice cream at McDonald’s, so check out the link! 

Other McDonald’s Halal Options

What other vegan options are available at McDonald's

Some other options on the McDonald’s menu that can be considered entirely halal are: 

  1. Apple Slices
  2. Coffee Based Beverages
  3. Fountain Beverages
  4. Burger Buns
  5. Milkshakes

Of course, these are just some halal options at McDonald’s. Refer to our article for a more detailed explanation of halal options on the McDonald’s menu


At the end of this article, it can be concluded that McDonald’s ice cream is indeed halal since it does not contain animal-based ingredients or alcohol.

Like the ice cream, many other options on the McDonald’s menu may surprise you. Look at if their fries are halal, if McDonald’s chicken is halal, and if McDonald’s filet-o-fish is halal

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Is McDonald’s ice cream halal? 

Yes, McDonald’s ice cream is halal. 

Are all ice creams considered to be halal? 

Yes, as long as they don’t have any animal products or alcohol added to them. 

Is McDonald’s meat halal? 

No, as of now, McDonald’s meat in the United States is not halal-certified.

Are there other options on the McDonald’s menu that are halal? 

Yes, there are a few other halal options on the McDonald’s menu. 

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *