Is McDonald’s Ice Cream Dairy Free?

McDonald’s ice cream is a beloved treat. McDonald’s menu offers delectable desserts from their soft serves to McFlurry delights. A question may have crossed your mind: is McDonald’s ice cream dairy free? So, let’s find an answer. 

Is McDonald's Ice Cream Dairy Free

No, McDonald’s ice cream is not dairy-free. Their ice cream is made with a blend of milk and cream. So, if you are allergic to dairy or lactose-intolerant, these ice cream treats are not for you.  

McDonald’s uses dairy content in their ice cream, adding richness and creaminess. So, you can enjoy their ice cream and get a delicious treat of all time.

In this blog, I will address many questions that are mostly asked on the internet, like is McDonald’s ice cream vegan, whether there are non-dairy-free items on McDonald’s menu, and many others. So, let me give you all the answers below. Let’s get started!  

Does McDonald’s Ice Cream Contain Dairy?

Does McDonald's Ice Cream Contain Dairy

Yes, McDonald’s ice cream contains dairy. The ice cream used in their desserts, including soft serves, McFlurry, and sundaes, include dairy products such as milk and cream. 

1. McDonald’s Soft Serves

McDonald’s soft serve is a simple joy. These soft serves are classic desserts from McDonald’s, made with creamy vanilla ice cream. The smooth and velvety texture of the soft serve is the result of its dairy content.

Moreover, the soft serve is made with milk and cream. Therefore, they are not dairy-free. So, if you are lactose intolerant, you must avoid soft serves.

2. McDonald’s Sundaes

Sundaes take the soft serve experience to the next level. It’s made with creamy vanilla soft serve and smothered in a chocolate hot fudge topping. It’s a delightful treat from McDonald’s.

It’s important to note that McDonald’s sundae ice creams are not dairy-free and contain milk and cream. 

3. McDonald’s McFlurry

McFlurry is a creamy ice cream treat blended with your choice of mix-ins, such as Oreo cookies, M&M, or Reese’s pieces. There are many McFlurry flavors available at McDonald’s that you can try. These McFlurry are the perfect combination of creamy vanilla soft serve with your favorite toppings.

Moreover, these McFlurry are made with milk which is a dairy product. Apart from that, they also contain cream. Furthermore, the Oreo cookie pieces are made with dairy products. Hence, the McDonald’s McFlurry is not dairy-free.  

What Kind Of Milk Is In McDonald’s Ice Cream?

What Kind Of Milk Is In McDonald's Ice Cream

McDonald’s official website says they use reduced-fat milk in their ice cream. The milk is pasteurized, which they use in making their ice cream-based desserts. 

Moreover, the main ingredient in McDonald’s ice cream is milk. Therefore, it’s not suitable for lactose-intolerant people. In that case, you can check out other dairy-free menu items from your favorite fast-food chain.  

Does McDonald’s Have Non-Dairy Ice Cream?

No, McDonald’s does not currently offer any non-dairy ice cream. Their ice creams are made with low-fat milk, and they do not have any vegan or dairy-free options.  

However, you can try other desserts, like apple pie or chocolate chip cookies, to satisfy your sweet tooth. 

Are There Dairy-Free Desserts At McDonald’s?

Yes, you can find dairy-free desserts at McDonald’s on their menu. While most of their desserts include dairy, you can still find some dairy-free treats. 

  1. Apple Pie
  2. Fruit ‘N’ yogurt parfait (without yogurt)

Apart from this, if you want to find other best desserts from McDonald’s, you can check out the complete list and find the one that best suits you.  

Are McDonald’s Ice Cream Gluten-Free?

Are McDonald's Ice Cream Gluten-Free

Yes, McDonald’s ice cream is gluten-free. The ingredients in their vanilla soft serve do not contain any gluten. However, it’s important to note that there can be a risk of cross-contamination, as other gluten menu items are made at the facility. 

Even though McDonald’s ice cream is gluten-free, you can ask the crew member about the possibility of cross-contamination. If you have severe gluten intolerance, checking everything before placing an order is better.  

Are McDonald’s Ice Cream Vegan?

No, McDonald’s ice cream is not vegan. It is mainly made with milk and cream. So, individuals who follow a vegan diet should avoid McDonald’s ice cream and opt for other vegan-friendly menu items. 

McDonald’s doesn’t have specific vegan ice creams on their menu. So, if you want to try a substantial vegan option, you can opt for fruit and maple oatmeal, which you can get without light cream. 

Is McDonald’s Ice Cream Halal?

Yes, McDonald’s ice cream is halal because there is no use of alcohol, gelatine, or any impermissible ingredients in their ice cream. 

So, if you are Muslim and want to know – Is McDonald’s ice cream halal, you can always ask the crew members from your local McDonald’s restaurant to confirm the fact. 

Other McDonald’s Items That Does Contain Dairy

Other McDonald's Items That Does Contain Dairy

Here are some other McDonald’s items that do contain dairy:

  1. Hash browns
  2. Hotcakes
  3. Filet-o-fish sandwich
  4. Mccafe frappes
  5. Cheeseburger
  6. Chicken sandwiches with cheese
  7. Milkshakes
  8. Breakfast sandwiches with cheese or butter
  9. Scrambled egg mix 

But if you are looking for McDonald’s items that don’t contain dairy, we have a separate article on McDonald’s dairy-free menu items that you should check.


We conclude the whole blog and confirm that McDonald’s ice creams are not dairy-free. They contain milk and other dairy products. However, if you are lactose intolerant and looking for dairy-free options, you can find many other menu items from McDonald’s. 

We have also addressed similar questions related to other McDonald’s menu items, like whether McDonald’s smoothies are vegan or vegan, whether McDonald’s hot chocolate is gluten-free, and whether Mcdonald’s hash browns are vegan. You can find all the answers on our blog. 

It’s always best to check the specific ingredients in the menu items of your favorite fast-food chain. That way, you can stay aware and find other menu items that cater to your dietary needs. I hope you have a wonderful day!

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Does McDonald’s ice cream have dairy?

McDonald’s ice cream has a diary. It includes milk, cream, and other dairy products.

Does McDonald’s have non-dairy ice cream?

No, currently, McDonald’s doesn’t have non-dairy ice cream. 

What kind of milk is in McDonald’s ice cream?

McDonald’s uses reduced low-fat milk in their ice cream.

Is McDonald’s fries dairy free?

In the United States, the fries contain milk. Therefore, they are not dairy-free. However, there are some other countries where you can find dairy-free fries, like Canada and the UK.

Do McDonald’s nuggets have dairy?

Yes, McDonald’s nuggets contain milk. They are fried in the same fryer as crispy chicken, which means cross-contamination is possible

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *