Is McDonald’s Hot Chocolate Gluten-Free?

Hot chocolate is a comfort drink on a cold winter day. The great news is that fast food chains like McDonald’s offer delicious hot chocolate! But many people with gluten intolerance have a question: “Is McDonald’s hot chocolate gluten-free?”. Let’s find out! 

Is McDonald's hot chocolate gluten free

Yes, McDonald’s hot chocolate is indeed gluten-free. The comforting beverage has no gluten-containing ingredients added to it, making it an excellent drink for people with celiac disease. 

McDonald’s menu is excellent, not just in terms of fast food but also lovely beverages. But, since McDonald’s works with many gluten-based options, the concern of people with celiac disease is pretty valid about the hot chocolate.

However, the great thing is that by the time you are done reading this article, you will have all the information you need about the same! Let’s begin! 

Does McDonald’s Hot Chocolate Contain Any Gluten? 

Does McDonald's hot chocolate contain gluten

No, McDonald’s hot chocolate does not contain any gluten. 

Although the beverage is free of gluten per se, the possibility of cross-contamination is also something to be aware of. 

But you can also easily avoid cross-contamination, ensuring your hot chocolate does not even have a trace of gluten. For that, tell the server about your gluten intolerance, and they will make sure to keep your beverage away from chances of cross-contamination. 

What’s In A McDonald’s Hot Chocolate? 

What's in a McDonald's hot chocolate?

Here is the list of ingredients used to make a classic McDonald’s hot chocolate: 

  1. Whole Milk: Milk, Vitamin D3 Added
  2. Chocolate Syrup: Sugar, Water, Chocolate Liquor, Caramel Color, Contains 2% Or Less: Natural Flavors, Vanilla Extract, Salt, Gellan Gum, Citric Acid, Potassium Sorbate (preservative)
  3. Chocolate Drizzle: Corn Syrup, Dextrose, Water, Sugar, Glycerin, Hydrogenated Coconut Oil, Cocoa (processed With Alkali), Modified Food Starch, Nonfat Milk, Natural Flavors, Salt, Gellan Gum, Disodium Phosphate, Potassium Sorbate (preservative), Soy Lecithin
  4. Whipped Light Cream: Cream, Nonfat Milk, Milk, Liquid Sugar, 2% Or Less: Mono And Diglycerides, Natural Flavors, Carrageenan. Whipping Propellant (nitrous Oxide)

As seen in the list of ingredients used to make the hot chocolate from McDonald’s, there is not a single ingredient that contains gluten. So yes, the hot chocolate is indeed gluten-free, and hence, perfect for people with gluten intolerance to enjoy! 

Can People With Celiac Disease Have McDonald’s Hot Chocolate? 

Yes, people with celiac disease can have McDonald’s hot chocolate. 

Since McDonald’s hot chocolate does not contain gluten-added ingredients, people with celiac disease can have it without worry. But again, if you have celiac disease, make sure you tell the server about the same so that they can be careful about chances of cross-contamination. 


McDonald’s hot chocolate is entirely gluten-free and an excellent beverage for people with celiac disease. The drink is comforting and does not contain a trace of gluten, making it the perfect option to enjoy on a cold evening!

If you have gluten intolerance, make sure to know about the gluten content of other McDonald’s beverages, like if their coffee drinks are gluten-free, if McDonald’s sweet tea is gluten-free, and if McDonald’s smoothies are gluten-free

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Is McDonald’s hot chocolate gluten-free?

Yes, McDonald’s hot chocolate is gluten-free. 

Are there chances of cross-contamination with gluten in McDonald’s hot chocolate?

Yes, there could be chances of cross-contamination simply because McDonald’s has a lot of other options on their menu that contain gluten.

How to avoid cross-contamination of hot chocolate with gluten at McDonald’s? 

To avoid cross-contamination of hot chocolate with gluten, tell the server about your gluten intolerance so they are more careful while making your beverage. 

Are there other beverages on the McDonald’s menu that are gluten-free?

Yes, quite a few other beverages available at McDonald’s are entirely gluten-free. 

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *