Is McDonald’s Big Mac Sauce Gluten-Free?

McDonald’s big mac burger is the most famous burger on their menu, and what makes it so tasty is the special big mac sauce. But here is a burning question – is McDonald’s big mac sauce gluten-free or not? Let’s find out! 


Yes, McDonald’s big mac sauce is gluten-free. According to its official website, the sauce excludes wheat-containing ingredients. Moreover, one thing to note is that the buns contain gluten so you can order your burger without the bun.

McDonald’s gluten-free menu is surprisingly vast, offering a range of gluten-free options. Apart from big mac sauce, many other menu items are also gluten-free. So, burger enthusiasts can enjoy the best McDonald’s gluten-free burgers

So, if you are curious about what McDonald’s big mac sauce is made of and what other gluten-free menu items are on McDonald’s menu, stay tuned till the end.

Does The Big Mac Sauce Contain Any Gluten?

Does The Big Mac Sauce Contain Any Gluten

No, big mac sauce does not contain any gluten. According to the official website of McDonald’s, it suggests that no gluten or wheat is added to their big mac sauce. 

McDonald’s food preparations can vary according to the region. So, it’s always better to check their updated information regarding ingredients and allergens in their products.  

What Is McDonald’s Big Mac Sauce Made Of?

Here are the ingredients of McDonald’s big mac sauce: 

  • Mayonnaise
  • Sweet Pickle Relish
  • Yellow Mustard
  • White Vinegar
  • Garlic Powder
  • Onion Powder
  • Paprika
  • Vegetable Protein
  • Sugar
  • Caramel Color
  • Turmeric
  • Extractives Of Paprika
  • Soy Lecithin

Big Mac sauce is a popular condiment that you can use on burgers, sandwiches, and salads too. It’s also a good dipping sauce for chicken nuggets, fries, and other finger foods. 

The sauce is sweet, tangy, with a hint of onion and garlic that you will love. The exact recipe for big mac is a secret but no worries! We have covered the big mac sauce recipe you can make at home and enjoy your burgers.

Does This Make The McDonald’s Big Mac Gluten-Free?

No, because the big mac sauce is gluten-free does not mean that the big mac burger is gluten-free. The buns are still made with gluten-containing ingredients. Therefore, McDonald’s big mac is not gluten-free. 

McDonald’s big mac burger is made from various components like buns, veggies, and meat patties. So, when it comes to the question, is the burger gluten-free? Not! Let’s break down the answer here. 

Besides buns (not gluten-free), the veggies added to the big mac burger are gluten-free. As for the meat patty, it’s a 100% beef patty and does not contain any gluten. These patties are made with various cuts of meat like round, sirloin, and chuck and seasoned with salt and pepper.

Hence, it’s proved that the big mac burger is not gluten-free because the buns used in the burger contain gluten. Everything else added to the burger is gluten-free.

Other Gluten-Free Items At McDonald’s 

Other Gluten-Free Items At McDonald's 

If you are allergic to gluten or avoiding it entirely from your diet, then you often think, what else can I have? Well, no worries! Your favorite McDonald’s does offer gluten-free menu items that you order instead. Let’s look at the list quickly. 

Drinks and Beverages

  • Milk 
  • Apple Juice
  • Sweet/Unsweet Tea
  • Coca Cola
  • Dr. Pepper
  • Sprite
  • Diet Coke
  • Minute Maid Premium Orange Juice
  • Minute Maid Pink Lemonade Slushie
  • Minute Maid Strawberry Watermelon Slushie
  • Fanta Orange
  • Hi-C Orange Lavaburst
  • Vanilla Shake
  • Strawberry Shake
  • Chocolate Shake

Dipping Sauces

  • Spicy Buffalo Sauce
  • Creamy Ranch Sauce
  • Honey Mustard Sauce
  • Honey
  • Ketchup
  • Mustard
  • Mayonnaise
  • Tartar Sauce


  • Hot Fudge Mcdonald’s Sundae
  • Hot Caramel Mcdonald’s Sundae
  • McFlurry with M&M’s Candies


  • Apple Slices

McCafé Beverages

  • Caramel Macchiato
  • Iced Caramel Macchiato
  • Cappuccino
  • Caramel Cappuccino
  • French Vanilla Cappuccino
  • Mocha
  • Iced Mocha
  • Latte
  • Iced Latte
  • Caramel Latte
  • Iced Caramel Latte
  • French Vanilla Latte
  • Iced French Vanilla Latte
  • Americano
  • Famous Premium Roast Coffee
  • Iced Coffee
  • Iced Caramel Coffee
  • Iced French Vanilla Coffee
  • Caramel Frappe
  • Mocha Frappe
  • Hot Chocolate
  • Classic Strawberry Banana Smoothie
  • Mango Pineapple Smoothie


So, finally, we confirm that McDonald’s big mac sauce is gluten-free. So, if you are allergic to gluten and looking for gluten-free options at your favorite fast-food chain, you can savor this big mac sauce from McDonald’s. 

We have also explored other gluten-free options to try at McDonald’s. Additionally, we have found other menu items that raise questions regarding gluten-free content, such as is McDonald’s oatmeal gluten-free or are McDonald’s smoothies gluten-free, you can read all the explanations on them.

Also, you can find an answer on whether McDonald’s sweet tea is gluten-free or not on this blog. Stay tuned for more information related to McDonald’s on our blog. 

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Does McDonald’s sauce have gluten?

No, the McDonald’s sauce is gluten-free and does not contain gluten or wheat-containing ingredients. 

What sauces at McDonald’s are gluten-free?

All the sauces at McDonald’s are gluten-free such as spicy buffalo sauce, creamy ranch sauce, honey mustard sauce, honey, ketchup, mustard, mayonnaise, and tartar sauce.

Are McDonald’s fries gluten-free?

No, McDonald’s fries are not gluten-free. They are cooked in the shared fryer and can contain wheat. 

Are McDonald’s chicken nuggets gluten-free?

McDonald’s chicken nuggets are not gluten-free, as they contain wheat flour in the coating. 

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *