Is Burger King Impossible Whopper Vegan? | Surprising Truth

With the food world shifting towards veganism and plant-based diets, Burger King joined in and introduced the Impossible Whopper in 2019. It has a plant-based patty instead of a meat patty and hence was Burger King’s step in the vegan direction.  

Impossible whopper

The Impossible Whopper is actually a plant-based burger that has been added to the BK vegan menu. It tastes pretty similar to the meat-based Whopper. Hence the name “Impossible Whopper.” But is the Impossible Whopper vegan?

No, BK’s Impossible Whopper is not entirely vegan. Despite being made with almost all vegan ingredients, people are still hesitant to try the so-called vegan burger as the plant-based patty is cooked in the same broiler as the meat patty. 

BK has also been questioned for the same, as one cannot call it completely vegan. Today we will have a juicy conversation and conclude the confusion once and for all. So stay with me, and I will share a hack that can make your impossible Whopper completely vegan!

Is The Burger King Impossible Whopper Actually Vegan?

Impossible whopper

No, Burger King Impossible Whopper is not actually vegan as BK claims it to be. Let me give you a detailed explanation. See, if you look at the ingredients, you will find that all the condiments used are completely vegan.

Despite this, people are still unhappy, as many claims that the impossible Whopper is not vegan. 

Ingredients of a Burger King Impossible Whopper

The BK’s impossible Whopper has all the ingredients placed between well-toasted sesame seed buns same as a regular Whopper – 

  • A Plant Based Patty (instead of a quarter-pounder patty )
  •  Lettuce
  •  Mayonnaise
  •  Tomatoes
  • Ketchup
  • Pickles
  • Onions 

The only difference is that a normal whopper has a meat patty, whereas an impossible whopper has a plant-based patty that contains soy leghemoglobin (this brings the same taste as a meat patty).

Everything in the Impossible Whopper except for mayo is vegan, and one could also skip the mayo. 

How much does the Impossible Whopper cost?

The Impossible Whopper at BK will cost you around $8.99 only. You can also add more patties by paying extra dollars. 

Nutrient contents in Impossible Whopper

Calories639 kcal
Fat32.5 g
Saturated Fat10.1 g
Trans Fat0.2 g
Cholesterol15.1 mg
Sodium1,353.9 mg
Carbohydrates62.8 g
Fiber6.9 g
Sugar14.5 g
Proteins31.7 g

Why Do People Think That The Impossible Whopper Is Not Vegan?

Impossible whopper

Even though BK has introduced a plant-based patty, the Impossible burger has not been completely accepted as a vegan burger. 

Simply because the patty, which is claimed to be plant-based, is cooked on the same broiler as the meat patty. I mean, this is some dark trick BK is trying to pull off.

Claiming that they are serving a veg burger is a half lie as the plant-based cooking gets contaminated with meat substances.

What really happens is that when they cook the meat patty, the broiler is contaminated with the same, and when the plant-based patty is cooked on the same broiler, it gets cross-contaminated with meat substances. 

In 2019 after the launch of Impossible Whopper, a complaint was filed against BK by a customer named Phillip Williams, who went to BK to have Impossible Whopper and later found meat substances on the patty.

He added that no one informed him prior to the serving that the patty would be cooked in the same broiler. Many vegetarians were also disappointed and showed their concern on Twitter.

After a whole lot of controversy, BK has now mentioned on their menu that the plant-based patty is cooked in the broiler as a beef patty. The mayo added as a topping also makes your impossible Whopper non-vegan as mayo contains egg as a main ingredient. 

Many will add that the Whopper is still vegan as no animals are harmed while cooking it. CNBC also mentions that 95% of the buyers of Impossible Whopper have bought beef burgers as they are trying to cut down the meat intake in their diet. 

So they won’t mind the use of the same broiler. But still, many who strictly avoid meat-based dishes due to religious practices and beliefs are for sure disgusted.

This is not the first case where BK’s strategy has failed. BK fries are also supposed to be vegan and even gluten-free, but as they are cooked in the shared fryer where onion rings and chicken fries are also cooked, the classic fries become a non-vegan item on the menu. 

Can Vegans Really Eat The Impossible Whopper?

Impossible whopper

Yes, vegans can really eat the impossible Whopper. You won’t take a no for the answer if you are someone like me. 

A simple hack to eat the impossible Whopper without getting it contaminated with meat substance is simply asking to cook it in a different clean broiler or go for a non-broiler patty. 

This way, your patty will be completely vegan, and you won’t miss out on such a fulfilling menu item at BK. Also, skip the mayo, as the BK mayonnaise is not vegan. 

Another point specifically for the vegans who avoid meat just because of animal cruelty is that if the patty is cooked on the same broiler, there is no animal harm, so it is animal cruelty-free.

 Go for it because, as per CNBC, many vega eaters visit places with meat on the menu. The ugly truth of fast food chains is that there is no way that one can make sure that their food is not contaminated. 

How to order an Impossible Whopper that is completely vegan? 

Impossible whopper

To order the impossible burger without contamination of meat substance, follow the steps:

  • Place an order for an impossible whopper.
  • Ask to skip mayo from the burger.
  • Request for a non-broiler patty.
  • You can also ask the employee if they have separate, clean broilers and ask them to cook your plant-based patty. 

Disclaimer: This hack is only possible if you are ordering the impossible whopper vis Drive-thru or while dine-in. You cannot make the following request while placing the order online. In case you don’t mind a bit of contamination, the online order is good to go!

 Other Vegan Items You Can Order At Burger King

Whopper and fries

Now after the impossible burger, there are many vegan options that you can try out at Burger King.

From hashbrowns to fries, BK has many items tagged as vegan, but if you are concerned about the shared fryer, you may ask the employee to cook the items on a separate fryer (depending on the location). 

You may be surprised to know that BK’s oatmeal is also vegan, as water is used instead of milk. If you talk about the fresh toast sticks, they are too vegan. Even the maple syrup as it is nothing but corn syrup. 

List of some vegan items at Burger King:

  • Hash Browns
  • Fries
  • Oatmeal
  • French toast sticks
  • PB&J Sandwich
  • Orange Juice
  • BK Cafe
  • Sweetened Iced Tea


If you are looking for a completely vegan item at a place with meat-based dishes, it would be hard to be 100% sure. However, if you are a little careful, no one can stop you from trying vegan items like an impossible whopper, even at Burger King. 

Similar to impossible burgers, BK fries, onion rings, and French toast sticks are supposed to be vegan, but it’s half true. Anyway, I hope this conversation was helpful. 

I Will be back with something more interesting. Until then, order the impossible Whopper and try it yourself. 

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Are BK’s Impossible Whopper vegan?

No, Impossible Whopper by Burger King is not completely vegan. The plant-based patty is cooked on the same broiler as the beef patty, making it non-vegan.

Are Burger King onion rings vegan?

No, Burger King’s onion rings are not vegan, as they are cooked in the same fryer as the chicken fries. 

Can we get an impossible vegan without meat contamination?

Yes, you can go for a non-broiler option for your plant-based patty that will make your impossible Whopper fully vegan. 

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *