Does Burger King Have Vegetarian Options On Their Menu?

Burger King is known for serving delicious beef and chicken burgers. However, what about the vegetarian options? Stay with us till the end as this article will help you find out: does Burger King have vegetarian options on their menu? 

Burger King Vegetarian Options

Yes, Burger King does have vegetarian options on its menu. The options include French fries, Impossible Whopper, hash browns, French toast sticks, dipping sauces, coffee, and more.  

Burger King expanded the vegetarian options and vegan options on their menu in 2019 with the introduction of Impossible Whopper. However, this introduction doesn’t come as a surprise as Burger King has a history of introducing new items on their menu. 

So, continue reading this article to know more about all the vegetarian or vegan items available at Burger King.

What Vegetarian Options Does Burger King Offer?

burger king Cheeseburger

Burger King offers many vegetarian options like flame-grilled burgers, desserts, beverages, and sides. Therefore, you have an excellent variety to choose from.

The vegetarian options I picked from the list don’t include eggs. However, there is still a chance of cross-contamination as Burger King uses the same toaster or fryer to cook all their menu items. 

Therefore, even their buns and croissants aren’t hundred percent vegetarian. It’s essential to be aware of this fact and place your order accordingly if you are a strict vegetarian or vegan. 

For now, let’s take a look at the list of delectable vegetarian options that you can try at Burger King: 

Vegetarian Burger King’s Flame Grilled Burgers Options

  • Impossible Whopper

Vegetarian Burger King’s King Jr. Meals Options

  • Oatmeal
  • Mott’s Natural Applesauce
  • French Fries
  • Fat-Free Milk
  • 1% Low Fat Chocolate Milk
  • Capri-Sun 100% Apple Juice

Note: Do you know that Burger King’s French fries are made in the same fryer as other food items on the menu? Therefore, Burger King French fries are not 100% vegan or vegetarian. However, they are fried in vegetable oil and made without the use of any animal products.

Vegetarian Burger King’s Desserts Options

  • Hershey’s Sundae Pie
  • Soft Serve Cone
  • Soft Serve Cup
  • Hershey’s Chocolate Sundae
  • Oreo Cookie Shake
  • Oreo Cookie Chocolate Shake
  • Hershey’s Chocolate Shake

Vegetarian Burger King’s Breakfast Options

  • Sausage Biscuit
  • Hash Browns
  • French Toast Sticks
  • Breakfast Syrup

Note: You will be surprised to know that BK’s French toast sticks are 100% vegan. Moreover, the breakfast syrup that comes with them is also verified vegan. Hence, you can enjoy them guilt-free by ordering them from Burger King’s breakfast menu.

Likewise, you can also try Burger King’s Hash Browns that are prepared with vegan-friendly ingredients. However, cross-contamination is still possible since they are prepared in shared fryers. So, checking with your server if the hash browns are vegan is recommended before placing an order.

Vegetarian Burger King’s Sides & Add-Ons Options

  • French Fries
  • Onion Rings
  • Mozzarella Sticks
  • Barbecue Dipping Sauce
  • Marinara Dipping Sauce
  • Jam Packet (Strawberry or Grape)
  • American Cheese

Note: Several onion ring recipes contain eggs. Therefore, they do not make for a suitable choice for vegans or vegetarians. As a result, vegans and vegetarians often need clarification about whether to eat them or not. 

The concern rightly seems valid as many fast food restaurants, including Burger King, do not serve vegan-friendly onion rings. Therefore, you should always check with the server about the ingredients to prepare them before placing an order.

Beverages

  • BK Cafe
  • BK Cafe Decaf
  • BK Cafe Iced Vanilla Coffee
  • BK Cafe Iced Mocha Coffee
  • Coca-Cola
  • Diet Coke
  • Sprite
  • Dr Pepper
  • Frozen Coke
  • Frozen Fanta Wild Cherry
  • Simply Orange Juice
  • Iced Tea (Sweetened or Unsweetened)
  • Minute Maid Lemonade
  • Hi-C Fruit Punch
  • Fanta Orange
  • Cherry Coke
  • Barq’s Root Beer
  • Slushies (Frozen Fanta Kickin Mango, Frozen Coke, Frozen Wild Cherry, Frozen Fanta Orange, Frozen Strawberry Lemonade, Frozen Surge, Frozen Blue Raspberry, Frosted Frozen Fanta )

Note: Burger King offers a variety of refreshing beverages to beat the heat. Some of their famous drinks include slushies and icees. So, do try them out with your next meal. 

Moreover, you can also purchase Barq’s Root Beer from a few Burger King stores in Arizona, Utah, Colorado, Texas, and Illinois.

How Can You Customize BK Menu Items To Make Them Vegetarian?

Burger King Flame Grilled Burgers

Customizing BK menu items is easy. All you have to do is ask for the non-vegetarian ingredients to be removed.

However, you must note that it would be challenging to customize the sides and make them 100% vegetarian-friendly. The reason is that Burger King uses the same oil to fry all its items.

Likewise, they also use eggs for breading in a few items like onion rings. Therefore, you must be careful while placing an order at Burger King and inform your server about your food preferences. 

Let’s look at how you can customize Burger King’s burgers to make them vegetarian-friendly in the sections below. 

How To Customize BK’s Flame-Grilled Burgers To Make Them Vegetarian?

BK’s flame-grilled burgers make for a delectable meal. But with a few modifications, they can also be enjoyed by vegetarians. So read on to know how to customize Burger King’s flame-grilled burgers to make them vegetarian-friendly.

Customizing Burger King’s Impossible Whopper To Make It Vegetarian-Friendly

As explicitly suggested on Burger King’s official website, Impossible Whopper contains egg mayonnaise. Therefore, to make it 100% vegetarian-friendly, you must ask your server to omit the egg mayonnaise. In its place, you can add other available sauces to the BK menu. 

Moreover, Burger King’s allergen menu mentions that all food items are cooked in shared fryers. As a result, the impossible patty is also cooked on the same grill where they cook their beef patties. Thus, the Impossible Whopper does not meet the criteria for being 100% vegetarian

So, to enjoy a 100% vegetarian-friendly Impossible Whopper, follow the steps below. 

  1. Place an order for BK’s famous vegetarian burger, the Impossible Whopper. 
  2. Ask your server to omit the mayonnaise and microwave the patty instead of broiling it.
  3. Add more veggies or other sauces of your choice.
  4. Voila! Your 100% vegetarian-friendly Impossible Whopper is ready to be devoured.

Other Burgers That Contain Egg Mayo And Have A Non-Veg (Beef) Patty

  • Whopper 
  • Double Whopper
  • Triple Whopper
  • Bacon & Cheese Whopper 
  • Whopper Jr. 
  • Bacon King 

Note: Burger King’s iconic Whopper is prepared with beef patties. Moreover, Burger King makes use of egg-based mayonnaise. Therefore, these burgers are not vegetarian-friendly. 

However, you can customize them to make them vegetarian-friendly by ordering them without these ingredients. You can also ask the server to add more veggies and other sauces.

Other Burgers That Do Not Contain Egg Mayo But Have A Non-Veg Patty

  • Hamburger
  • Double Hamburger
  • Cheeseburger
  • Double Cheeseburger
  • Bacon Cheeseburger
  • Double Bacon Cheeseburger
  • Rodeo Burger

Note: All the burgers mentioned above feature beef patties. However, you can customize them to make them vegetarian-friendly by requesting the removal of the patties. 

So, try this customization on your next visit to Burger King. BK’s Rodeo Burger is a great vegetarian option, with onion rings between the buns. Therefore, you can enjoy a wholesome vegetarian burger at BK without the patty. 

How To Customize BK’s Chicken & Fish Burgers To Make Them Vegetarian?

Burger King Vegetarian Options

You can customize BK’s chicken and fish burgers to make them vegetarian by requesting the removal of non-vegetarian patties. In their place, you ask for more veggies to be added.

Burger King’s menu offers delectable chicken and fish options apart from beef. For example, Burger King’s Spicy Chicken Sandwich is famous among customers for its spicy and savory taste.

Likewise, Burger King offers a Fish Sandwich for all the fish lovers. Therefore, you can customize BK’s fish and chicken sandwiches to make them vegetarian-friendly. 

Let’s look at the list of the BK burgers which can be easily customized:

Burgers That Contain Egg Mayo And Have Non-Veg (Chicken Or Fish) Patty

  • Classic Royal Crispy Chicken Sandwich
  • Spicy Royal Crispy Chicken Sandwich
  • Bacon & Swiss Royal Crispy Chicken Sandwich
  • Original Chicken Sandwich
  • Chicken Jr. and Big Fish Sandwich

Note: The burgers mentioned above can be made vegetarian by removing the chicken or fish patty and egg mayo. You can ask the server to add more veggies and other sauces available at Burger King.

Now that you know all the burgers that can be customized at Burger King, let’s take a detailed look at the process to follow while placing an order.

  1. Swap The Patty: This is the easiest way to get a vegetarian burger or sandwich at Burger King. Select the burger of your choice and ask the server to swap meat with the impossible patty. 
  2. Build Your Burger: Add your favorite toppings. The options include lettuce, tomatoes, pickles, and onions. 
  3. Ditch The Dairy: Many Burger King items come with cheese by default. You can easily make them vegan-friendly by asking for cheese to be removed. 
  4. Use Vegan Sauce: Burger King offers several vegan sauces, such as BBQ sauce, ketchup, mustard, and sweet chili sauce. You can use these sauces instead of using mayonnaise. 
  5. Explore The Sides: Burger King also offers vegan side menu options such as French fries and hash browns. You can ask them to place it inside the burger instead of meat patties. 

Therefore, you can turn almost any Burger King menu item into a vegetarian meal with some creativity. 

How To Customize BK’s King Jr. Meals To Make Them Vegetarian?

Burger King Kids Meals

Customizing BK’s King Jr. Meals is easy. You can ask the server to replace beef patties with more veggies and cheese. 

Burger King offers special meals for kids. The options include the Cheeseburger King Jr. Meal and the Hamburger King Jr. Meal. However, the burgers in these meals are not vegetarian-friendly as they are prepared with beef patties. 

So, what do you do in such a case? Customize! Look at the steps below to customize BK’s King Jr. Meals. 

  1. Place an order for BK’s King Jr. Hamburger or Cheeseburger meal.
  2. Ask the server not to add beef patties and mayonnaise. 
  3. You can replace the patty with fries or onion rings. Likewise, you can replace mayonnaise with any other sauce of your choice.
  4. Voila! Your customized vegetarian-friendly kid’s meal is ready! 

How To Customize Burger King’s Breakfast Items To Make Them Vegetarian?

Burger King’s breakfast items can be made vegetarian-friendly by asking for the removal of eggs, sausage, ham, and bacon. 

You will find a variety of sandwiches, burritos, and biscuits at Burger King that make for a wholesome breakfast made of egg and meat. Moreover, you will be happy to know that Burger King’s breakfast menu includes a few vegetarian options. They include:

  1. Hash Browns
  2. French Toast Sticks
  3. Breakfast Syrup 
  4. Milk
  5. Jam packet 

However, you can also customize the non-vegetarian items to make them vegetarian-friendly. For example, you can place an order for Breakfast Burritos by asking your server to remove the sausage and egg patty.

In their place, you can ask them to add hash browns. Likewise, you can also ask for the sandwiches to be prepared with hash browns instead of meat and egg.

Which Burger King Menu Items Contain Only Eggs?

Burger King Egg And Cheese Croissanwich

Among the diverse range of items available on Burger King’s menu, specific items are tailored for egg enthusiasts. Therefore, if you are looking for items that contain only eggs and do not include non-veg patty, you can place an order for: 

  • Egg And Cheese Croissan’wich Sandwich
  • Egg and Cheese Biscuit

Conclusion

Finally, we come to the end of this article. We discussed whether Burger King serves vegetarian options or not. Luckily, Burger King does offer a few vegetarian options. For example, you can try their vegetarian sides like onion rings, French fries, French toast sticks, oatmeal, and chocolate milk. 

However, if Tater Tots are your favorite snacks, you will no longer find them on the menu. That’s because they are featured on the menu for a limited time.

Besides these side options, Burger King offers a veggie burger like the Impossible Whopper. However, while enjoying food from your favorite fast food restaurants, it’s essential to be aware of the ingredients used to make them. That’s because many people suffer from food allergies. 

Therefore, you must avoid Burger King’s buns as they are not gluten-free. Likewise, you must also be aware of the oils that Burger King uses to cook their food. By taking these precautions, you can enjoy delicious food from Burger King guilt-free.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Does Burger King have a vegetarian option?

Yes, Burger King has vegetarian options like burgers, sides, beverages, and sauces. Some vegetarian options include the Impossible Whopper, French toast sticks, soft serve cups, hash browns, mozzarella sticks, soft drinks, and coffee beverages.

Is there a vegan option at Burger King?

You can find vegan options at Burger King, such as the Impossible Whopper Burger, hash browns, and French fries.

Can vegetarians eat Burger King fries?

Yes, vegetarians can eat fries at Burger King. However, it should be noted that the fries are fried in the same fryer as other non-vegan food items. Therefore, there is a chance of cross-contamination.

Does Burger King have vegetarian desserts?

Yes, Burger King offers vegetarian desserts like chocolate chip cookies, soft serve cones, soft serve cups, and HERSHEY’s sundae pie.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *