Does Burger King Have Gluten-Free Buns For Their Burgers?

Lately, as there has been a rise in people with gluten intolerance, fast-food chains like Burger King have been offering extensive gluten-free menus. But, since Burger King is known for its classic Burgers, do they have gluten-free buns for the same? Let’s find out! 

Does Burger King have gluten-free buns?

Currently, Burger King does not have gluten-free buns for their burgers. All their buns are made with enriched wheat flour, where gluten is one of the main components. However, there are ways to enjoy gluten-free burgers at Burger King! 

Burger King has a lot of gluten-free options. But Burger King has not come up with gluten-free options for their buns. This detailed blog post will examine what makes these buns unsuitable for people with celiac disease.

Moreover, there is a detailed analysis of the ingredients used in the bun and how gluten-intolerant people can enjoy the burgers! Stay tuned till the end for all of this exciting information! 

Are Burger King Buns Gluten-Free? 

Impossible whopper

Burger King Buns are, unfortunately, not gluten-free at all. They are made with wheat-derived products as one of the main ingredients, which makes their gluten content pretty high. So, the buns from Burger King cannot be deemed gluten-free. 

Burger King in some countries in Europe does offer an option of gluten-free buns, especially for people with celiac disease. This is mainly seen in Scandinavian countries like Norway, Finland, and Sweden. 

However, despite having a large population of gluten-intolerant people in the United States, gluten-free buns have not hit their locations. But we hope that Burger King someday introduces them on the menu!

Regardless, Burger King has been doing well in the United States by offering some of the best burgers ever

What Are The Ingredients In Burger King Buns? 

Single Quarter Pound King

When it comes to fast food places, most of us are used to the idea that the buns they use must be made with refined flour. But that is not the case with the buns at Burger King. Burger King uses a blend of flours, of which only a few have gluten. 

Don’t believe me? Let’s take a look at the ingredients! Here, I have mentioned a detailed ingredient list for all three buns you can find at Burger King: sesame-seeded buns, specialty sandwich buns, and corn-dusted buns. 

Burger King Sesame-Seeded Buns Ingredients: 

  1. Enriched wheat flour (wheat flour, barley malt, niacin, iron, thiamine mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid), 
  2. Water, 
  3. Sugar/glucose-fructose, 
  4. Yeast, 
  5. Sesame seeds, 
  6. Vegetable oil (canola or soybean), 
  7. Salt, 
  8. Monoglycerides, 
  9. Sodium stearoyl-2-lactylate, 
  10. Calcium propionate, 
  11. Calcium sulfate.

Burger King Specialty Sandwich Buns Ingredients: 

  1. Enriched wheat flour (wheat flour, barley malt, niacin, iron, thiamine mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid), 
  2. Water, 
  3. Sugar/glucose-fructose, 
  4. Cornmeal, yeast, 
  5. Vegetable oil (canola or soybean), 
  6. Salt, 
  7. Vinegar, 
  8. Calcium propionate, 
  9. Sodium stearoyl-2-lactylate, 
  10. Monoglycerides

Burger King Corn-Dusted Buns Ingredients: 

  1. Enriched wheat flour (wheat flour, barley malt, niacin, iron, thiamine mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid), 
  2. Water, 
  3. High fructose corn syrup, 
  4. Degermed yellow corn meal, 
  5. Wheat gluten, 
  6. Contains 2% or less of soybean oil, yeast, salt, durum wheat flour, corn syrup solids, oat fiber & dough conditioners (sodium stearoyl acetylate, monoglycerides, calcium peroxide) 
  7. Guar gum, 
  8. Algin, 
  9. Xanthan gum, 
  10. Yeast nutrients (monocalcium phosphate, calcium sulfate, ammonium sulfate), 
  11. Calcium propionate (preservative),
  12. l-cysteine hydrochloride, 
  13. Tricalcium phosphate

As you can see, enriched wheat flour is one of the main ingredients for all three buns. The enriched wheat flour contains a blend of a few flours, giving these buns their characteristic structure and flavor. 

The blend consists of all gluten-free flour except wheat flour. Wheat flour is what contains gluten. Moreover, the corn-dusted buns add extra wheat gluten to the dough. So, these buns are unfit to consume for people with celiac disease. 

Is A Whopper Gluten-Free Without The Bun?  

left handed whopper

A Whopper without a bun is entirely gluten-free! The Whopper patty from Burger King is made with all beef, traditional spices, and seasonings. Then, it is grilled with no traces of gluten. Hence, a Whopper with the bun is, indeed, completely gluten-free! 

So yes, if you have celiac disease but also like your share of meat, the Whopper patty is a safe bet! You can check out our blog post to learn how healthy a Whopper is

Can You Order A Burger Without The Buns At Burger King? 

Can you order Burgers at Burger King without buns?

Yes, you can order a burger without the buns at Burger King! 

This should be listed on their regular menu or other places as such. But you can ask the server to switch the buns in any of their beef burgers with lettuce instead. 

This way, you get to enjoy a perfect burger without any gluten! 

Conclusion

As of now, Burger King locations in the United States don’t have gluten-free bun options. Their burger buns are made with an enriched flour blend containing wheat flour. The wheat flour adds gluten, so the buns are rich in the same. 

In Scandinavian countries, Burger King does offer a special bun that is entirely gluten-free. Although this has yet to reach the US, we hope it happens sometime soon. But regardless of that, the burger patties are altogether gluten-free! 

So, if you have gluten intolerance, you can still enjoy a beef burger from Burger King. All you have to do is ask for lettuce instead of Burger Buns! Moreover, I recommend looking at whether Burger King nuggets and fries are gluten-free if you have gluten intolerance. 

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Does Burger King have gluten-free buns? 

No, as of now, Burger King in the United States does not offer gluten-free buns. 

Do all the buns have gluten in them? 

Yes, all the burgers and sandwich buns at Burger King are made with an enriched flour blend containing wheat flour. 

Does Burger King offer gluten-free buns anywhere in the world? 

Yes, Burger King does offer gluten-free buns in Scandinavian countries. 

Is a Whopper without a bun gluten-free? 

Yes, the beef patty that makes the Whopper is entirely gluten-free. 

Can you order burgers without buns at Burger King? 

You can order burgers with lettuce instead of buns at Burger King. 

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *