Burger King Vegan Menu Options In 2024 To Try

With the world shifting to veganism and plant-based diets, Burger King’s vegan menu options have become a popular choice. Many parts of the population have adopted vegan food choices and BK has surprised its customers with amazing vegan menu items.

You can enjoy the exclusive Impossible burger and Impossible whopper along with fries, hash browns, French toast sticks, and oatmeal from the Burger King’s vegan menu. You also have an array of drinks to choose from.

The average cost of a vegan menu item at Burger King ranges from $1 to $8.99. 

Since the beginning, Burger King had a few items which were on the vegan radar but were never adequately labeled. Recently in 2019, Burger King officially launched Impossible Burger for their vegan eaters and emerged as a vegan-friendly fast food restaurant.

 There are many more menu items that you can easily enjoy at any Burger King outlet without compromising your vegan diet.

Today we will deep dive into everything vegan at BK’s outlets and share little tips to help you while ordering vegan items from your favorite burger chain (obviously – Burger King). 

What Is Vegan At Burger King? 

Burger King vegan items

As already mentioned, Burger King officially joined the vegan menu race with the launch of the Impossible whopper in the summer of 2019. Since then, there are a lot of vegan options that have amazing taste and have great nutritional value

So, apart from the Impossible Whopper (with no mayo or cheese), which is very delicious and nutritious, Burger King has many other options for you to choose from vegan items. 

The Impossible Burger (no mayo)$8.99

Firstly, Burger King’s fries, which are super delicious and popular, are vegan. Yes, you heard it right! Unlike other fast food restaurants, Burger King makes their fries with vegetable oil.

Burger King hash browns are also surprisingly vegan. They are made with potatoes that are golden fried in vegetable oil like the fries. They are super crunchy, and you can enjoy hash browns with vegan sauces like mustard sauce or ketchup as a dip. 

SidesSmallMediumLarge
Hash Browns $1.00$1.69$1.89
Fries $3.39$3.69$3.99

Apart from these items, Burger King has a sweet delight – french toast sticks that have three to five sticks that come with syrup (again vegan).  

Now, if you are worried about the shared fryer thing, then this could be a little concerning as Burger King has specifically mentioned that they cook the fries in the shared fryer, but the good news is that if you request, then they can cook your fries in a separate clean fryer.

This totally depends on the location, so it is advised to first check with your nearest outlet. 

And lastly, Burger King oatmeal is also a vegan item. Surprised? Yeah, me too! So the thing is that BKC makes their oatmeal using water, so there is no milk or dairy product – true vegan oatmeal it is. You can also try fruit-topped maple syrup.

The maple syrup is also vegan as it is mainly corn syrup. 

You can also try Burger King’s PB & J sandwich. Don’t worry about the fact that this item is from the kid’s menu because it is really tasty and vegan too! 

French Toast Sticks (3 pieces)$1.00
Fruit Topped Maple Flavor  (made with water)$1.99
Plain Oatmeal (made with water)$1.99
Applesauce$2.29
PB&J Sandwich$3.59

If you are looking for some vegan drinks to quench your thirst at BKC, you have many options. You can enjoy many vegan drinks at Burger King, from cokes, Dr Pepper, and orange drinks to coffee like BK Cafe, BK Decaf cafe, and BK Iced Coffee with no milk. 

Beverages SmallMedium Large
BK Café$1.99$2.29$2.49
BK Cafe Decaf$1.99$2.29$2.49
Dr. Pepper$2.99$3.19$3.49
Capri Sun Apple Juice$1.99
Coca – Cola$2.99$3.19$3.49
Diet Coke$2.99$3.19$3.49
Coca-Cola zero sugar$2.99$3.19$3.49
Sweetened Iced tea$2.99$3.19$3.49
Unsweetened Iced tea$2.99$3.19$3.49
Frozen Coke$1.69$4.69$4.99
Orange Juice$2.59
Frozen Fanta Wild cherry$1.69$4.69$4.99
HI-C Fruit Punch$2.99$3.19$3.49
BK Cafe Iced Coffee (no milk)$2.39$2.79$3.19

Best Vegan Options At Burger King

When it comes to vegan food items, one would never think of fast food chains like burger king, but as more people are adopting new food choices, Burger King is matching their menu with customer’s preferences. 

Now, we have already listed all the vegan options, but there are a few that are a must-try if you’re looking for some delicious burgers and other items. 

1. The Impossible Burger

Impossible whopper

When you are looking for a vegan burger at Burger King, then the Impossible burger is your answer. Go for it without any doubt by simply skipping the mayo. It has lettuce, tomato, onion, pickle, and a plant-based patty – the star ingredient. 

This delicious burger also contains soy and potato protein adding to your nutrient requirement. 

Now, many people criticized that the patty is made in the same broiler as the beef patty after which BK announced that one can ask for the non-broiler cooking method for the plant-based patty to make it completely vegan.

2. French Toast Sticks

French stick toast

If I have to order any sweet vegan item, then in a single heartbeat, I would go for french toast sticks. They are super amazing, and there is nothing one would not like. They are hot, crunchy, perfectly sweet and completely vegan (even the syrup). 

These french toast sticks are made without eggs and milk, and their taste is still unmatched. The best thing is that you can enjoy these sticks without making any mess as they are easy to eat.

3. Hash Browns

Hash Brown

Surprisingly, Burger King’s hash browns are vegan. You may think that hash browns are made from potatoes, so why is it a surprise that they are vegan? 

The thing is that many fast food restaurants use beef oil as it is cheap to fry their hash browns, which makes them non-vegan. 

On the other hand, Burger King uses vegetable oil and a secret tip to avoid your hashbrown being cooked in the same fryer as the other non-vegan items. Simply ask the Burger king employee to cook it separately. They are well trained on this (Impressive!!!). 

4. Fries

Fries

Like Hash browns, many fast food restaurants cook their fries in beef oil and use the same fryer for every item.

 Burger King has made your fries safe from any contamination of non-vegan substances. Isn’t it great? BK’s fries are cooked in vegetable oil, and like hash browns, you can ask them to fry your classic fries in a separate fryer.

So whenever you crave these crunchy golden potato delights but are worried about non-vegan content, go for Burger King’s fries without any ifs and buts. 

5. Impossible Whopper

Whopper

Similar to Impossible Burger, Burger King has impossible whooper, which has tomatoes, crisp lettuce, creamy mayonnaise (skip this to make it completely vegan), ketchup, crunchy pickles, sliced white onions and plant-based patty on a toasted sesame seed bun. 

The best thing about this whopping burger is that it is fulfilling, and you can enjoy it without making any major changes to the item. 

You can also enjoy other burgers by skipping the beef patty and the mayonnaise. This way, you can enjoy the best items from BK without worrying about non-vegan ingredients. 

 What Are Vegan Burger King Burgers Made Of? 

Burger King

In order to meet the food preferences of their customers, Burger King made a bold choice of adding the first-ever vegan burgers to their menu. If you check Burger King’s website, The Impossible burger is claimed to be completely vegan.

The main reason for the burger being vegan is the patty. Basically, the patty is made from plants and not meat. The burger also has juicy tomatoes, white onions, ketchup, pickles, and American cheese (you can skip this one).

Everything is packed into well-toasted sesame seeds buns (buns are also vegan as they are egg free, dairy free and plant based).

When it comes to The Impossible Whopper, it has, again, a plant-based patty along with shredded lettuce, mayo, crunchy pickles, and white onions, which are again placed on well-toasted sesame buns.

If you want to know complete info on this surprising yet amazing vegan whopper then check out the complete dive-in on how BK’s Impossible whopper is vegan.

A point that the BKC website highlights is that the patty is grilled in the same broiler, so many of you may wonder how you can tag it as vegan. Let me clear out a fact first. Vegan food choice means eliminating any food item derived from animals. 

Technically, using the same broiler does not harm the animals, so you can still call it vegan.

Secondly, as already mentioned, you can simply ask the Burger King employee to cook your patty with a non-broiler method or use a separate broiler for the same (if you are lucky, then you might get your patty cooked in a separate clean broiler). 

Does Burger King Have Vegan Breakfast Options? 

Burger King breakfast

If you are thinking about getting some vegan breakfast from Burger King but are confused about what to order, then let me help you with the items you can easily order. 

Go for hash browns to start something light like iced coffee or anything from the breakfast menu with vegan ingredients. 

  • French Toast Sticks 
  • Hash Browns
  • Oatmeal 
  • Maple Syrup 
  • Burger King Iced Coffee (without milk)

Are Burger King Fries Vegan?

Yes, the Burger King fries are vegan. I mean, when I learned that BK serves vegan fries, I was more than happy as I could easily grab them on the way to work. 

Now it is very clearly mentioned on Burger King’s website that the fries are cooked in the shared fryer but according to Veegl, they visited some of the outlets, where the fries had a separate fryer.

To be 100% sure about the shared fryer thing, a little tip is to ask and confirm yourself simply politely. 

You can also check our separate blog, where you can find all the information about Burger King’s vegan fries. 

Are Burger King Onion Rings Vegan?

Unfortunately, the onion rings are not vegan.

As per World of Vegan, onion rings are made with whey – a milk derivative. Another fact is that they are fried in the shared fryer, making them more non-vegan.

If you want complete details about BK’s onion rings being non-vegan, follow the link here

Are Burger King French Toast Sticks Vegan?

Absolutely, the sweet and crunchy french toast sticks from Burger King are vegan.

Even PETA mentioned that the french toast sticks are accidentally vegan because the maple syrup is also vegan. Check out the complete info about this sweet vegan delight while enjoying it without milk-free coffee. 

 Does Burger King Have Vegan Chicken?

Yes and No. My answer might be confusing, but the fact is that Burger King officially serves vegan chicken in the UK and is now testing their plant-based chicken patty in many parts of the USA.

So sooner or later, the USA will have vegan chicken patties that will taste similar to a regular chicken patty. 

What To Avoid At Burger King If Eating Vegan?

Onion rings

I’ve have already deeply discussed what items you could easily enjoy at BK’s outlet, but there are a few things that are obviously non-vegan, but sometimes we need proper clarification.

Here’s the list of some completely non-vegan items: 

  • Onion rings
  • Chicken fries/ nuggets
  • Any burger or sandwich (except The Impossible Whopper and burger)
  • Any coffee with milk
  • Sunday pie
  • Shakes
  • Chocolate chip cookies
  • Soft serve cone

Tips while ordering Vegan Items from BK’s Outlet

Here are some tips that I think might help you if you are ordering vegan food from the Burger King menu.

  • Always check any item nutrient or allergen information on the official website.
  • Whenever ordering any vegan item, request to cook in a clean broiler or fryer.
  • Say no to mayo and meat patties in any burger or sandwich.
  • Order your coffee with no milk. 

Other Diet-Specific Burger King Blogs We’ve Covered

Fries

In a world of different food choices, it gets confusing to figure out which food items match your preference. When it comes to fast food chains, they are progressing and matching the food preferences of their customers with the change in time.

Burger King has surprisingly been really forward with the change and offers a variety of items that matches the needs of their customers. Like gluten-free menu items or low-sodium menu options, Burger King has something for everyone.

If you are on a keto diet, selecting a low-calorie item from BK’s big menu can be difficult, so that you can check our dedicated blog on Burger King’s keto menu option. In case you or your loved ones have diabetes or allergies to some ingredients, you can check the separate blogs for both. 

Conclusion

Honestly, I am happy that Burger King has so many good vegan options on the menu. Many fast-food chains are still trying to fit in with their vegan customers.

I hope this whole conversation was helpful. We will be back with more such informative pieces of discussion. Until then, order some hash browns and enjoy the day!

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

What is vegan at Burger King USA?

Burger King has many vegan items, like Impossible whopper, Hash browns, Fries, French toast stickers, and Mott’s Applesauce. 

Does Burger King have a vegan burger?

Yes, Burger King has a vegan burger – Impossible Whopper- made with a plant-based patty and other vegan ingredients.

Are Burger King fries vegan?

Yes, Burger King cooks their fries in vegetable oil which makes it completely vegan.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *