Are McDonald’s Smoothies Vegan?

McDonald’s offers an array of smoothie flavors on its menu. There are various flavors, such as strawberry banana smoothie and mango pineapple smoothie, which are fan-favorites. However, the question arises – are McDonald’s smoothies vegan? So, let’s find out the answer.

Are McDonald's Smoothies Vegan

No, McDonald’s smoothies are not vegan. They contain ingredients that are not suitable for vegans. The primary ingredient in the smoothie is low-fat yogurt made from milk. Apart from that, gelatin, an animal-derived ingredient, is also present in the smoothie. 

Also, if you are prone to some allergens in the food that may be harmful to you, you can always check the list of ingredients, as there are some allergens present in McDonald’s smoothies too. 

In this blog, I will share all the ingredients and details of McDonald’s smoothies so you can determine whether you want to order them on your next visit. So, let’s get started with the blog. 

Why Are McDonald’s Smoothies Not Vegan?

Why Are McDonald's Smoothies Not Vegan

McDonald’s smoothies are not vegan because they contain yogurt and gelatin, both animal-derived ingredients. Gelatin is a protein derived from animal collagen used as a smoothie thickener. 

According to McDonald’s official website, it claims that their smoothies have milk. This means that the smoothies are not vegan. So, if you are looking for vegan smoothies, there are other options on the McDonald’s menu, such as cold drinks, hot and iced coffee, apple juice, orange juice, and slushie. 

All McDonald’s Smoothies Flavors

When it comes to McDonald’s smoothies, one can try different flavor options. Also, you get to choose different sizes too. Currently, McDonald’s offers three flavors for smoothies: strawberry banana smoothie, mango pineapple smoothie, and blueberry pomegranate smoothie. Let’s discover each of them closely. 

1. Strawberry Banana Smoothie

McDonald’s serves refreshing strawberry banana smoothies to give you the perfect combination of natural strawberry and banana fruit puree and juices. It’s a creamy blended smoothie that will provide you with delicious flavors. It contains strawberry banana fruit base, ice, and low-fat yogurt. You can select three sizes, small for 12 oz, medium for 16 oz, and large for 24 oz.

2. Mango Pineapple Tropical Smoothie 

Enjoy a mango pineapple tropical smoothie from McDonald’s. It’s a perfect blend of fresh fruit base and creamy texture. It has a mango pineapple fruit base, ice, and low-fat smoothie yogurt. It’s available in three sizes: small, medium, and large. 

3. Blueberry Pomegranate Smoothie 

The blueberry pomegranate smoothie is an excellent combination of the tartness of blueberry with the richness of pomegranate. This smoothie is a flavorful blend of blueberry, pomegranate fruit base, ice, and low-fat yogurt. It also comes in three popular sizes, like the above two smoothies.  

McDonald’s Smoothie Ingredients

McDonald’s Smoothie Ingredients

Here are the McDonald’s smoothie ingredients: 

Strawberry Banana Smoothie Ingredients:

  • Strawberry puree
  • Banana puree
  • Water
  • Grape juice concentrate
  • Clarified demineralized pineapple juice concentrate
  • Sugar
  • Artificial flavors
  • Cellulose powder
  • Pear juice concentrate
  • Peach juice concentrate
  • Low-fat Yogurt 
  • Xanthan gum
  • Citric acid
  • Pectin
  • Colored with fruit and vegetable juice
  • Ascorbic acid (preservative)

Mango Pineapple Smoothie Ingredients:

  • Water
  • Clarified demineralized pineapple juice concentrate
  • Mango puree concentrate
  • Pineapple juice concentrate
  • Orange juice concentrate
  • Pineapple puree
  • Apple juice concentrate
  • Low-fat Yogurt 
  • Cellulose powder
  • Natural and artificial flavors
  • Xanthan gum
  • Pectin
  • Citric acid
  • Fruit and vegetable juice for color
  • Turmeric extract (color)

Blueberry Pomegranate Smoothie Ingredients:

  • Sugars (clarified demineralized pineapple juice concentrate, apple juice concentrate, peach juice concentrate, pear juice concentrate)
  • Blueberry puree
  • Water
  • Strawberry puree
  • Pomegranate juice concentrate
  • Raspberry puree
  • Low-fat Yogurt 
  • Xanthan gum
  • Citric acid
  • Lemon juice concentrate
  • Natural (botanical source) flavors
  • Pectin
  • Fruit and vegetable juice for color

Can You Make McDonald’s Smoothie Vegan?

You can make McDonald’s smoothie vegan by switching to vegan milk or yogurt. Use plant-based milk like almond or soy milk, and choose vegan yogurt. 

Add your favorite fruits like strawberries, banana, mango, and pineapple, and blend all the ingredients. Your vegan smoothie is ready. 

Are McDonald’s Smoothies Gluten-Free?

Yes, McDonald’s smoothies are gluten-free because they contain no gluten ingredients. These smoothies are made with yogurt, ice, and fruit base, so there is no chance of having gluten-containing components.

However, there can be a chance of cross-contamination during the smoothie-making process. So, it’s better to speak with the crew member regarding any possibility of cross-contamination and be sure whether your smoothies are gluten-free.

Are McDonald’s Smoothies Dairy Free?

Are McDonald’s Smoothies Dairy Free

No, McDonald’s smoothies are not dairy-free. They contain low-fat yogurt, which is made from milk. 

Therefore, if you are lactose intolerant or have a dairy allergy, you should avoid McDonald’s smoothies. You can also find many dairy-free options on McDonald’s drinks menu, such as premium-roast coffee or cold drinks.  

Potential Allergens In McDonald’s Smoothies

Potential Allergens In McDonald’s Smoothies

Some potential allergens are present in their smoothies. Let’s look a the list: 

  • Milk 
  • Soy
  • Gelatin

Does McDonald’s Have Vegan-Friendly Drinks?

Yes, McDonald’s has vegan-friendly drinks. You can find various drinks under their soda, coffee, tea, slushies, and juices. Below you can find some of the glasses from the McCafe drinks menu.


  • Coca-Cola 
  • Sprite
  • Dr. Pepper
  • Fanta Orange


  • Premium roast coffee
  • Americano


  • Minute Maid strawberry watermelon slushie 
  • Minute Maid pink lemonade slushie
  • Minute Maid blue raspberry slushie


  • Minute Maid orange juice
  • Apple juice


After going through the entire smoothies flavors list from McDonald’s, McDonald’s smoothies are inevitably unsuitable for a vegan diet. The presence of low-fat yogurt derived from milk and other ingredients such as gelatin are animal-derived ingredients. 

In addition to smoothies, we have also explored other popular questions, such as whether McDonald’s buns are gluten-free or not and are McDonald’s pancakes vegan or not

Apart from that, we have also explored McDonald’s plant-based nuggets. So, those following a vegan diet can check the ingredients list and order accordingly. 

I hope you found this blog helpful. Stay tuned for more such articles on McDonald’s. Have a great day! 

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Are smoothies vegan at McDonald’s?

McDonald’s smoothies are not vegan as they contain low-fat yogurt and gelatin, which are animal-derived ingredients. 

What drinks at McDonald’s are vegan?

Juices, cold drinks, slushies, and black coffee are vegan drinks.

Do McDonald’s smoothies have gelatin?

Yes, McDonald’s smoothies have gelatin. Gelatin is a protein that is derived from animal collagen, and it is used as a thickener in many foods.

Does McDonald’s use yogurt in its smoothies?

Yes, McDonald’s uses low-fat yogurt in their smoothies.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *