Are McDonald’s Smoothies Gluten-Free?

McDonald’s has some beautiful smoothies on their menu that everyone loves. Although most people enjoy their fair share of smoothies, people with celiac disease have a very concerning question about them. Are McDonald’s smoothies gluten-free? Let’s find out! 

Yes, McDonald’s smoothies are indeed gluten-free. This is because they don’t have any gluten-containing ingredients added to them. However, people with celiac disease should remember that there are still chances of cross-contamination. 

McDonald’s smoothies are a great drink option, especially if you want a healthier drink option. McDonald’s does offer quite a few gluten-free options on their menu, but people have had their doubts about the smoothies.

If you also have doubts, read this article until the end, as you will get detailed answers! 

McDonald’s Smoothies Are Gluten-Free

McDonalds smootjies are gluten free

Yes, McDonald’s smoothies are considered gluten-free, mainly because they do not contain gluten ingredients. 

However, there are some things that anyone with celiac disease should be careful about. Although McDonald’s smoothies are technically gluten-free, they are not certified gluten-free by McDonald’s. The reason behind this phenomenon is that there are always chances of cross-contamination. 

Although McDonald’s employees take reasonable care to ensure that cross-contamination does not happen, there are still chances of it happening. So, if this would be worrisome for you as a person with celiac disease, it is better not to consume McDonald’s smoothies regardless of how delicious they are. 

McDonald’s Smoothie Flavors

McDonalds smoothies flavors

As of now, McDonald’s offers three flavors of smoothies, which are:

  1. Strawberry Banana Smoothie
  2. Mango Pineapple Smoothie

Of these three smoothies, the most popular ones are the strawberry banana smoothie and the mango pineapple smoothie. They also have a blueberry pomegranate smoothie that occasionally appears on the McDonald’s menu. 

Similarly, McDonald’s initially had a few other smoothie flavors on their menu, like Triple Berry Smoothie and Wild Berry Smoothie. However, as they weren’t as liked by the customers, it has been a while since they have been a part of the menu. 

Does McDonald’s Use Real Fruits In Their Smoothies? 

No, McDonald’s does not use natural fruits in their smoothies. Instead, they use concentrated fruit purees of different flavors to make their smoothies.

Most places known for serving just smoothies tend to make them with natural fruit. But smoothies aren’t a specialty at McDonald’s. Moreover, they are also a fast food restaurant chain, so they tend to use prepackaged food to keep up with high demands. So, McDonald’s uses healthy fruit puree concentrate to prepare their smoothies. 

What Are McDonald’s Smoothies Made Of? 

What are McdONALDS SMOOTHIES MADE OF

There are a few common ingredients for both the smoothie flavors that McDonald’s offers on their menu, whereas others differ based on each recipe. Here are the common elements that go into both these smoothies. 

  1. Ice
  2. Yogurt
  3. Water
  4. Clarified Demineralized Pineapple Juice Concentrate
  5. Cellulose Powder
  6. Natural and Artificial Flavors
  7. Xanthan Gum
  8. Pectin
  9. Citric Acid
  10. Fruit and Vegetable Juice for Color

Some individual ingredients go into both these smoothies, which are given below: 

  1. Strawberry Banana Smoothie: Strawberry Puree, Banana Puree, Grape Juice Concentrate, Sugar, Pear Juice Concentrate, Peach Juice Concentrate, Ascorbic Acid (preservative). 
  1. Mango Pineapple Smoothie: Mango Puree Concentrate, Pineapple Juice Concentrate, Orange Juice Concentrate, Pineapple Puree (pineapple And Ascorbic Acid), Apple Juice Concentrate, Turmeric Extract (color). 

You can also try homemade versions of these smoothies with the strawberry banana smoothie recipe and mango pineapple smoothie recipe

Are McDonald’s Smoothies Vegan As Well? 

No, unfortunately, McDonald’s smoothies are not vegan. 

McDonald’s smoothies have yogurt as one of the ingredients, which is a dairy product. Hence, McDonald’s smoothies cannot be classified as a vegan option. But the good news is that some McDonald’s outlets are willing to switch their yogurt to a plant-based option so you could ask them about it! 

Does McDonald’s Have Other Gluten-Free Options On Their Menu? 

Does McDonald's have other gluten free drinks

Yes, McDonald’s does have some other gluten-free options that you can enjoy, like: 

  1. Burger Patty without buns
  2. Sausage Patty
  3. Fountain Drinks
  4. Coffee Drinks
  5. Milkshakes

If you are intolerant to gluten or have any other concerning allergies, it is best to go through McDonald’s gluten-free and allergen menu before you visit their store. 

Conclusion

It can safely be said that McDonald’s smoothies are indeed gluten-free since they don’t have any gluten-based ingredients added to them. However, there are chances of cross-contamination, and customers should be aware.

If you have gluten intolerance, check if other McDonald’s menu items are gluten-free, like if their hot chocolate is gluten-free, if their sweet tea is gluten-free, and if their coffee drinks are gluten-free

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Are McDonald’s smoothies gluten-free?

Yes, McDonald’s smoothies are gluten-free. 

Are McDonald’s smoothies vegan? 

No, McDonald’s smoothies are not vegan. 

Does McDonald’s use natural fruits to make their smoothies? 

No, McDonald’s uses fruit puree concentrates to make their smoothies. 

Are there chances of cross-contamination of smoothies with gluten-containing ingredients? 

Yes, there are always chances of cross-contamination, and customers should be aware. 

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *