No meal is complete without the classic fries as a side option at BK. Most of us love eating fries at Burger King; they are salty, crispy, and delicious. Still, many wonders if the fries at BK are gluten-free or not.
The fries are coated with rice flour, making the fries gluten-free. One might assume that they are gluten-free. So, are BK fries gluten-free or not?
No, BK fries are not completely gluten-free. The ingredients used in fries at Burger King do not have any gluten substances. But the fries at BK are cooked in a shared fryer, meaning the same fryer is used for cooking other menu items with gluten content.
Due to this, oil gets contaminated with gluten particles, and the fries become not so gluten-free.
Now don’t be disappointed, as in the following conversation, we will get detailed information on BK fries not being gluten-free; also, I may have some improvised techniques to have gluten-free fries at BK. So could you stick with me till the end?
What's In The Post
Why are Burger King Fries Not Gluten Free?
One may wonder if Burger King has not mentioned any allergen information for the fries, then why are people still debating on the fact that BK’s fries are not gluten-free?
Burger King fries obviously have potatoes coated with rice flour and salt, golden fried until crispy in soybean or canola and palm oil after
As per BK’s allergen menu sheet 2021, the fries do not contain any gluten substance, as no wheat is used in making them.
However, the interesting fact is that the fries are cooked in the shared fryer, so there is a high chance that gluten substances from other menu items can contaminate the fries.
This is why your classic fries from Burger King are not gluten-free. I know this might be a little unfair because if BK was a little mindful and cared enough to have a separate fryer to cook non-gluten menu items, we would enjoy so many things without worries.
Maybe we will sign a petition for it?
What Are Burger King Fries Made Of?
Burger King fries for sure do not have any wheat content, but let us see what it all contains and what the ingredients are to prepare the fries. The ingredients used in making BK’s fries are as follows:
- Soybean/ Canola and Palm Oil
- Modified Potato Starch
- Rice Flour
- Potato Dextrin
- Leavening (Disodium Dihydrogen Pyrophosphate, Sodium Bicarbonate)
- Xanthan Gum
- Sodium Acid Pyrophosphate (added to preserve natural color).
How Are They Made?
When it comes to making BK’s classic fries, the potatoes are cut and prepared to store in the freezer. After the potatoes are good enough to be cooked (enough starch has been washed out), they are fried in hot oil at an ideal temperature.
This is the stage where our lovely fries get contaminated with gluten. BK uses the same fryer to cook other menu items like onion rings with gluten, as wheat is used as an ingredient. When the same fryer is used, many gluten substances get mixed in the oil that later on contaminates the non-gluten fries.
Are Burger King Fries Vegan?
Amidst all the sad news, there is some silver lining. Burger King fries are vegan! Unlike other fast food chains like McDonald’s, BK does not use beef oil for cooking their fries.
If I say they are vegan, this might be half true. Again because of the shared fryer, my answer would change.
As the shared fryer has non-vegan substances so the fries also become non-vegan. You can dig in a little bit more in our dedicated blog on BK fries being vegan!
Other Gluten-Free Items At Burger King?
I know that not many of you who are looking for gluten-free items will have a hard time finding something that matches your taste buds. Let me simplify for you. Let us see some of the gluten-free items at Burger King.
Burger King offers many items that do not have gluten substances at all. You can always go for flamed grilled burgers but without the buns.
You can try whoppers, Bacon cheeseburgers, cheeseburgers, and hamburgers. Ask the employees to wrap with lettuce instead of buns so as not to let the ingredients fall out.
Go for beverages without milk, like shakes, milk-free coffee, coca cola, and other drinks. Something sweet? A soft serve cone is your item.
- Flamed grilled burgers without the buns
- Non-milk coffee
- Coca-cola, Dr pepper, and other drinks
- Condiments like ketchup and applesauce.
Where there is a hunger for fries, there is always a way!
Now, let me share a little hack for you to get gluten-free fries at Burger King. Obviously, they are cooked in a shared fryer that makes them gluten.
You can always ask your nearest outlet to cook your fries in a separate fryer not used for cooking other items.
You can get gluten-free fries at many outlets if there is more than a single fryer. This totally depends on your nearest outlet and your damn luck!
BK fries are out of the gluten-free race for a single reason. I hope they reconsider this and find a way to have all the outlets of BK have a separate fryer for the classic fries.
That would solve all the problems. I will be back soon with more such conversations. Until then, make yourself dome fries (gluten-free ones).
Frequently Asked Questions [FAQS]
Why are BK’s fries not gluten-free?
BK fries are cooked in a shared fryer, making them contaminated with gluten substances and not gluten-free.
Are BK’s onion rings gluten-free?
No, Burger King’s onion rings are not gluten-free, as wheat is used as a main ingredient in the recipe.
Can I get gluten-free fries at BK?
If your nearest outlet has a clean, separate fryer, then upon request, you can get gluten-free fries. Try your luck!